Check My Self

April 14, 2014 at 5:19 AM 4 comments

One thing I’m excited for in the new house is the very small landing at the bottom of our stairwell.  I don’t have any pics of it as we aren’t living in the house yet (sorry).  I really enjoy decorating tiny spaces.  You can give them a bit of unexpected punch.

I have grand plans for the place, starting with my trusty watermelon console table…

8308556_orig

I usually hang art above the console table but this time around I absolutely must, without question, put a mirror above it.  You see currently, we have this mirror right above our stairwell that the previous tenants put up.  It wasn’t ours to begin with so it’ll stay with the apartment.

But, said mirror, has saved me from walking out the door with unbrushed hair, makeup smirrored under my eyes, baby throw up down my shirt, mismatched socks, you name it.  Sometimes I’m in such go mode that I get Josie all ready and completely forget to make myself semi-presentable until that miraculous little mirror reminds me.  Nope, Kate, back it up and brush yo hair.  I get to check my self.  And we don’t want me to be the crazy lady of Hillsborough.  So a mirror is in order.

I was absolutely hooked on this Ballard Mirror but I found out when ordering it for a client that it’s discontinued.  BOO!!!

88cb15aad8ee2c952a5a76935ea2ecb6

Back to the drawing board for me.  I would love you forever if someone found this exact pair of mirrors at an estate sale for like $60 and thought “these are so Kate” and just lugged them home for me.  I would hug you, squeal with delight and give you dinner and a bottle of champagne.  So, please do keep me in mind when you are perusing estate sales.

4a625e01e7ecdb819f231d1e8ca5fc7e

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

PBR Lights And So It Begins…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deborah moore manning  |  April 14, 2014 at 9:33 AM

    Kate, I will be “on the look-out” here in Newport, but what about Wisteria? I have found two mirrors there that are wonderful and well priced. Here’s lookin @ ya!
    xd

    Reply
  • 2. The Vintique Object  |  April 14, 2014 at 10:33 PM

    Haha, I feel as if I must go on a mission to find you those mirrors! Can’t wait to see the that little space all dressed up with your magic!
    Camille

    Reply
  • 3. Leo  |  April 16, 2014 at 7:46 PM

    Great choice to place a mirror there, not only practical for making yourself presentable but also mirrors visually open up a usually cramped landing space. Also I love the color of that watermelon table.

    Reply
  • 4. Anne {Almost Home}  |  May 1, 2014 at 3:25 PM

    So, after scoring that Ballard Mirror at a thrift store in Davis, I had to go on Ballard’s site to impress my husband with how much money I saved us (I got it for $30!) 🙂 According to the website, it’s available beginning in July…so maybe there is still hope?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


