Breakfast Nook: Dilemmas and Answers

November 11, 2013 at 5:23 AM 5 comments

I get giddy when people ask me to put together a breakfast nook for them.  It’s really fun for me…let’s take a look at a few examples of breakfast nooks that I’ve done and how to tackle those common dilemmas.

Dilemma – you’ve got kids but you want that light, bright airy look.  How do white and spaghetti sauce go together?

Answer – Vinyl and laminate…that might sound icky but look how pretty it comes out –

1834342_orig

The vinyl we used in this project looks like a faux shagreen and that DWR table is laminate so both places you can wipe away spills with a sponge.  And we added a little party to the back of the chairs with indoor/outdoor fabric.

Dilemma – You want a high functioning breakfast nook but you don’t want to lose the glamour.

Answer – Add tufting and a glitsy light.

img_7679 (1)

I used vinyl again with this breakfast nook but the tufting glams the space up and for a bit more formal to those eggo waffles, we put in a crystal chandy.

Dilemma – I want to bring character to my new build home

Answer – Choose pieces you love and you’ll add in the character.

Kristen's Nook

This particular client loved Palm Springs, which I’m obsessed with, so we brought some palm springs to her breakfast nook with chippendale chairs and a rattan pendant.  We actually even boosted this area up a notch by recovering the Chippendale chairs with a patterned fabric but I don’t have pics of it.  I must go photograph my spaces.  I wish I could take a dang picture correctly!

Dilemma – I live in a rental and I don’t want to spend big bucks on items.

Answer – You can still have fun on a small budget – hunt flea markets and use items you might already have in unconventional ways.

5086743_orig

Well folks, this is my little breakfast nook.  The chairs are all flea market finds, the rug was Urban Outfitters uber sale so I don’t care if it’s ruined.  The “table” is actually my WEst Elm desk that I didn’t have a spot anywhere else for so why not use it as a table.

So basically in a nutshell wipeable doesn’t have to be boring or look so “wipeable” simply by mixing in fun chandeliers or different chairs.  And don’t be afraid of vinyl.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Nine Months In Family Friendly Living Room

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fran  |  November 11, 2013 at 6:23 AM

    Loved seeing your work!! These are all gorgeous spaces!! Second one is my favorite!

    Reply
  • 2. dmm  |  November 11, 2013 at 6:28 AM

    Kate, I have to tell you how much your work has evolved,progressed, matured. . . I have seen so much growth and refinement over the past three years; it is a joy to behold! Just to see some of your projects in photographs and then to see Katie’s home on Scott Street makes this fan very proud. Your sense of style has always been fresh and young, and now it has a rich patina that borders on classic. . . few Designers reach this level; you’ve arrived. dmm

    Reply
  • 3. erin @ house envy  |  November 11, 2013 at 7:10 AM

    Kate, these are great ideas and I love that your designs are functional/practical and beautiful.

    Reply
  • 4. Ashley  |  November 11, 2013 at 2:58 PM

    You have “the touch” when it comes to classy-yet-kid-friendly breakfast nooks. I’d gladly live with any of them.

    Reply
  • 5. Kitchen Remodeling  |  November 12, 2013 at 5:00 AM

    I loved the way you have solved this mystery ! Its looking beautiful. The peeping sunshine is adding positivity !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 359 other followers


