Nine Months In

November 8, 2013 at 5:57 AM 6 comments

Yesterday, Josie hit nine months.  She has been out as long as she was in, which had me thinking of when i was pregnant.

photo (98)

Call me crazy but I feel as though you can troll the mommy blogs, the lifestyle magazines or just chat to anyone of your friends with kids and you hear a lot about how much work it is to have a child.  People want to trump each other with their horror stories.

Honestly, I had been bombarded with so many warnings about the difficulties of parenthood that at about 81/2 months pregnant I had a breakdown.  I cried pretty much the whole day.  I tried so hard for a baby and there I was two weeks before my due date completely and totally freaked out.  Could I actually handle a baby or would it be just plain too much work?  I had heard about the sleep deprivation, the boredom, the depression, the constant baby tears, the unknown and I was scared beyond belief of having a baby.

IMG_8781

You know what?  Yes, I experienced all of the things listed above.  But, that’s not what I choose to concentrate on each and every day.  I have a beautiful, healthy baby.  When she smiles her entire nose wrinkles like a Shar Pei dog.  If you toss her up into the air, she will giggle an innocent, pure, beautiful giggle.  When she tries a new food she will take it all in with such gusto and excitement and then she will usually spit it out and give the most disgusted look afterwards. She will work those ab muscles on her chubby belly with massive determination so she can sit up and play with a toy.  She can out guzzle anybody when it comes to drinking a bottle.  I’ve often thought I should challenge her to some of my college drinking buddies and see who would win.  She is determined but fair – she will scream bloody murder when you take something away from her but as soon as you give it back, she will immediately stop crying.  My God is she fun to dress.  She absolutely loves strangers, one day we’ll have to have the puppy van stranger talk, but for now it’s wonderful to see the joy she feels of meeting new people.  She is very emotive; if you are generally happy, she will be as well.  Those times when difficult things have happened and I’ve cried in front of her, she reaches her hand out towards me and she will give me a little smile.  She likes to chit chat.  She is starting to get the hang of a joke.  If she does something and it makes us laugh, she will repeat it and look up at us to make sure we laugh again.  When she is having a very big cry, she calms down when I hold her tight and sing, “Amazing Grace.”  She is a horrible napper but she does remarkably well on little sleep.  I think she is like me and she just doesn’t want to leave the party.  She is patient.  She is the most wonderful thing I have ever worked at.

photo (97)

Work?  Absolutely.  But, to those of you her are facing the unknown of parenthood, I think I’d equate it to your most favorite job ever.  Kate Collins Interiors took a lot of work to build but it also was the most fun and rewarding thing I have done for myself…well, that is until Josie came along.

IMG_8771

Happy nine months to my sweet little one.  And happy birthday to my absolutely wonderful mother who beamed joy to us kids growing up and never let us know that motherhood was actually a lot of work.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Home Again Home Again Breakfast Nook: Dilemmas and Answers

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmm  |  November 8, 2013 at 7:16 AM

    Do I see Twin Tops on Mother & Daughter in the first photo?!! Oh my goodness, that is the Dearest, ever. Loved reading this post, Kate. . . I, too had a Mother who made our lives an Adventure, never a chore. Even naps were fun as we spread the newspaper over us on the sofa, taking Hobo Naps as she told us stories about the people who traveled by rail from town to town back in Ohio! When we bulked @ eating her homemade Vegetable Soup, she explained that all the “movie stars in Hollywood ate tons of this soup to maintain their Beauty”; my Sister and I still make Movie Star Soup for our children . . .

    Reply
  • 2. bridget  |  November 8, 2013 at 10:43 AM

    I am with you Kate! My mother never showed me anything but the pure joy of motherhood and I knew I had that to look forward to. Is it hard work? Yes, all truly wonderful and fulfilling things are. Is it the best thing EVER? Absolutely. Happy 9 months, Josie and happy birthday, Kathy!!

    Reply
  • 3. Alex M  |  November 8, 2013 at 12:07 PM

    So nice to read for a 7 month pregnant person who is pretty freaked out most of the time and is a magnet for baby horror stories! Have you heard the one about the lady who had her baby in the taxi on the way to the hospital?! I have! 🙂 Can’t wait to join you in motherhood Kate! And to pick your brain on best places to shop for baby once I find out if this baby favors blue or pink! You are a wonderful Mom and your family is lucky to have you! xoxo

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis Hayward  |  November 8, 2013 at 3:14 PM

    A beautiful blog Kate.

    Reply
  • 5. erin @ house envy  |  November 9, 2013 at 7:13 AM

    darling baby!

    Reply
  • 6. Sarah  |  November 11, 2013 at 8:31 AM

    Thank you so much for capturing the lovely parts! You’re right that there are plenty of things to worry about, but if we dwell on those, we might miss the tiny and abundant joys! My mom always told me two things about parenthood: (1) it is the hardest but best job you’ll ever do; and (2) choosing to have a kid is choosing to have your heart walking around outside your body for the rest of your life. Three kids in and it’s truer every day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 359 other followers


