Snuck Away

October 8, 2013 at 5:45 AM 7 comments

Last Friday, I snuck away to New York City for the weekend with mom.  It was torturous leaving behind Josie, even though she was in great hands with her dad.  There were quite a few tears on my end (none on hers) and I was worried about leaving.  But, once we got to Manhattan, I was able to let go and to enjoy the mother/daughter trip.

photo (89)

We stayed at the beautiful, newly renovated, Palace Hotel.  That night, we went out to Kinky Boots.  What a show!  I highly recommend it.  It was very high energy and oh so much fun.

Saturday, we were up early for New York standards, to take advantage of my one full day in NYC.  For this single day in New York, we only had time to go to one store.  One store in all of Manhattan – that’s a lot of pressure! I chose Comptoir Des Cotonniers – a Parisian brand that is my all time favorite.  My one shop did not disappoint.  In fact, mom and I almost walked away with matching dresses, until I realized I could just borrow hers.

Here’s the dress mom now owns and I will borrow…

13671

And what I got…

13926

Snake Belt

13584

Jacket

14292

Dress

After our one shopping spot, we were off to the West village for lunch with one of my besties from college, Irene Wood.  Irene is also a major jewelry designer: History and Industry.  You may have caught her recently on the Lonny blog.  She has the best pieces and so I asked her to bring some necklaces to lunch so we could continue shopping.  We both got beautiful necklaces from her Floriography Collection, which is inspired by the Victorian-era secret language of flowers.

Mom got

protea_2

Protea

and I got

Summer2013_Angrec_prod

Anggrek

With our new purchases, we walked the 50 blocks back to our hotel and got all dolled up for my Aunt’s 60th birthday party.  Mom looked beautiful in her new purchases…

photo (87)

We had a special birthday dinner at Le Barnardin.  The restaurant lived up to its hype.  The food was out of this world delicious.

photo (88)

After dinner, it was time to head out dancing.  We danced the night away…some of us later than others.  I made it out with the late night crew and after about three hours of sleep, I was in a cab and headed to the airport to get home to the beautiful baby girl.

photo (90)

It was a great little getaway!  And I have to send a huge thank you to my mom for the trip and to my Aunt and Uncle for the fabulous dinner.  I only wish I had time for ABC Carpet and Home but I did decide to cheat on interiors with fashion and I don’t regret that at all.  I’m curious….if you had time to shop one store in NYC, what would it be?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Going Gingham Louis XVI Dining Chairs

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmm  |  October 8, 2013 at 6:29 AM

    Great question, Kate. . . hmmm, let’s see. I’d probably go to the Mothership Bloomies because I adore that store and it has many of the designers I love: Theory,Celine,Louie and Oscar de la Renta. And for Home stuff I’d go to the West Village and return to M&J Trim(ribbon and trim and and and ), we found it years ago and it has the best ribbons in the world.
    Your NYC Trip was a Dream Come True, kiss your Mom for me! xod

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 8, 2013 at 11:41 AM

      Great choices!! I never even thought of M&J Trim – ooh the fun to be had there!

      Reply
  • 3. Ashley  |  October 8, 2013 at 6:33 AM

    What a fun girls’ weekend! I used to live in NYC before moving to Philly…so it would be tough. But if I HAD to choose, it would be John Derian’s shop. It’s small but it packs a major punch.

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 8, 2013 at 11:41 AM

      I didn’t know you used to live in NYC. Fun! I actually considered John Derian’s shop but then I was afraid of falling in love with something that wouldn’t fit into my carry on bag. 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  October 8, 2013 at 10:34 AM

    What a trip!! Irene’s stuff if sooo beautiful, I’m on her site now and I would buy 10 things if i could. Your mom’s choices are dynamite! So are yours, but I’m totally in love with the Protea necklace!

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 8, 2013 at 11:43 AM

      Soooo beautiful!! The Protea necklace is soo fabulous! It might be worth cheating on your decor budget for. I had the issue of wanting everything mom got but then realized I could just go down there and borrow it. What’s hers is mine…joy of having a daughter.

      Reply
  • 7. lauren  |  October 8, 2013 at 11:25 PM

    So fun! I love your purchases. I would let you pick my 1 store Kate and it would definitely be clothes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


