Grasscloth in the Kitchen

July 24, 2013 at 5:17 AM 4 comments

Ever have one of those days where things just go wrong?  Where you find out that a client’s chair you were told was in transit, from a reputable company, is actually not even made yet…oh and the leather is on back order.  Where you discover that a store that you often frequent has ordered the wrong rug for a client…for the second time.  Where you head out to your car for a meeting – lugging a six month old in a car seat, a stroller, a diaper bag filled to the brim, a bag with client stuff and your purse – hike the four blocks to your car only to find that you car key (which is always in your purse because it’s keyless entry) is not in your purse and only have to lug EVERYTHING back to find the car key.  Where on the trek back from the client meeting your baby decides to cry and cry so you decide to pull over in random town and feed her.  Once back on road for home, you find that feeding her did not quell her, it only added fuel to the fire and said cry has turned to scream…but, really, what can you do but drive, listen to screaming and sing off key?  Then at a stop light, you do your usual twist and maneuver to put a pacifier into your baby’s mouth only to have your favorite dress get caught on the seatbelt and rip…and I mean pretty much to shreds kinda rip.  Come hell or high water, you finally make it home only to find said baby screams were caused by the poop of all poops…like poopy ms. mcpooperson….why not get on my ripped dress…cause it’s ripped…poop.  One of those days where sh*t happens both figuratively and most definitely literally.  I’m now typing this (the night before posting) with a glass of wine and it is really, really helping.  #truth

On the bright side, the client meeting was great and I’m so excited with where things are going!

Now on with the show.  Let’s talk grasscloth, shall we?

I’m a huge fan of grasscloth.  It is timeless; it adds a beautiful texture and it goes with everything.  I’ve used vinyl grasscloth in two bathroom projects now and I absolutely love that look.

My thoughts began to go to other great places for a vinyl grasscloth, which naturally took me to the kitchen.  I’ve dug up some inspiration photos and it is a fabulous spot for some grasscloth!

c7bf37e72086f7b57a7a9ed1181a7639

cf1527f23da79722c1848036d96c503a

8ec19ab2e0c53ce4286fe46b2e38f932

bc5f197c0d4499c0190a5046a4c42336

Keep in mind, the grasscloth should be vinyl to keep up with all the activity involved in the kitchen.  I smeared some makeup into a vinyl sample yesterday to test out the durability and it came out with soap and water.  Amazing.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pinboard Summering

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmm  |  July 24, 2013 at 6:29 AM

    Your description of Kate’s terrible, horrible, no good, VERY bad day rivals that of Alexander. . . I had to smile, especially about the Mcpoopster; so many fond memories of raising my daughters!!! The grass-cloth inspired kitchen are fabulous; straight to my “ideas folder”. xx

    Reply
  • 2. Laura  |  July 24, 2013 at 6:35 AM

    I love the look! I love grad cloth on the ceiling too! Great post:)

    Reply
  • 3. Meghan  |  July 24, 2013 at 11:24 AM

    TY!! Sometimes I wonder if all the bloopers in biz happen only to me! The kid stuff too;)

    Reply
  • 4. Kim  |  July 25, 2013 at 6:45 PM

    Beautiful! Could you tell me more about the Vinyl floor?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 360 other followers


