Guest Post and Weekend Recap

July 16, 2013 at 8:20 AM 3 comments

I’m back from a wonderful fun filled weekend.  Today you can find me at The Pink Zipper where I’m sharing 25 things you don’t know about me…such as what animal’s tongue I have touched while it was sleeping.  Check out Hollie’s fantastic blog; she also has an awesome ETSY pillow shop that uses gorgeous and original textiles.

photo (55)

I haven’t done a weekend recap in a while so I thought I’d do a short and sweet one.  Plus, this way you get to see new pics of Ms. Josie girl.

photo (54)

Friday night, Graham and I hit the town to celebrate my birthday eve.  BTW, we used Urban Sitter and I was able to book a babysitter in less than 5 minutes.  It’s the best for date night!  We headed out to Woodward’s Garden in the mission.  It’s delicious with a quaint down home atmosphere.

woodwards-xl2

It’s the type of place where you almost believe it’s okay to let that top button down for an extra slice of pie.

The 13th was my 33rd birthday and it was as if Josie had read my Friday blog about threes.  She has done an amazing job at sleeping through the job, except for 3:30 AM on July 13 she decided to wake up in a chipper mood, ready to wish me a happy birthday.  As a friend pointed out, it was keeping in theme with the birthday (thanks, Anna!).  When she woke back up at 6:30, we decided to try out the red door cafe.

Have you heard of the Red Door Cafe?  It is one of those impossible to get into, no reservations, hipster endorsed, foodie breakfast spots.  We figured with our early arising we might actually make it in the door.  We couldn’t find the hours to the restaurant online so we decided to venture in person, only to find these are their lovely hours.

photo (47)

The Red Door was shut and we didn’t feel like standing for hours in the hopes that the owner would be in the mood to open it, so off we went to the ferry building.  I haven’t been to the ferry building in over a year and man am I missing out.  There are so many fabulous stalls there.  I decided to treat myself to an organic, gluten free doughnut and a green juice.  Yum!!

photo (53)

We came back home and opened up pressies.  Yippee!!  My best gift of all was this little one…and a fabulous duvet cover but more on that later.

photo (52)

Then Sacramento Street was having sidewalk sales and so we perused them and I got to carry Josie around in the Ergo which is my favorite way to travel.

20130713_134317

We then headed over to a friend’s house who Allie and I are helping with her kitchen remodel.  We took a peek at the black and white floor tiles she had put in.  This is our inspiration kitchen which I blogged about a couple of years ago.

kitchen

Soon the clock struck 5:00, which is clearly dinner time.  That actually is our new dinner time if we want to bring our main girl Josie along.  So Graham went and had dinner with his girls.

photo (51)

Sunday, we headed home for a birthday brunch with my family.

photo (48)

We spent the day in the pool and it was absolutely perfect way to end my birthday weekend.

2013-07-14_1373834982

Especially because it meant this little one got to sport her swimsuit which gets zero use in the city.

20130714_135540

It was the type of weekend where no real agenda made for lingering, meaningful conversations, moments of true tranquility and plenty of opportunities to have a good laugh.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy 33 to Me Feeling Foxy

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  July 16, 2013 at 9:28 AM

    It was such fun to have ALL my chilluns and ALL the grands!!! Love, Mom

    Reply
  • 2. Hollie  |  July 16, 2013 at 4:22 PM

    Kate Thanks again for the guest post – success! {www.thepinkzipper.blogspot.ca}

    Reply
  • 3. The Vintique Object  |  July 21, 2013 at 3:57 PM

    Happy birthday, Kate! (Mine is the 14th. How about that?)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


