Research and Development

July 8, 2013 at 6:30 AM 1 comment

    Guest Blogger: Allie

As you all know, Europe is light years ahead of us in all things fashion and design. I’d argue that they are pretty much that way with everything in life (baguettes and cheese for 3 meals a day and wine by 11 am), but let’s focus on what we can all agree on. So, considering it had been a couple years since either Kate or I had been to France, we figured it was time for one of us to go on a design reconnaissance mission. As you all know, Kate has little miss Josie to care for, so we decided it would be best for me to take one for the team, and spend ten days in Southern France and Paris. I tell you people, this is one tough job, not for the faint of heart! I mean, I even had to take my boyfriend with me…

IMG_1591

Here’s how it went down: We got shipped off Friday night from San Francisco to Antibes, a quaint little gem of a beach town in the French Riviera.

We were instructed to spend the weekend (and then some) recovering from our strenuous flight here…

I mean, honestly Kate, Hotel du Cap Eden Roc, was that really neccessary? We were then forced to spend our days swimming in the pool,

playing in the Mediterranean,

IMG_1574

being wined and dined at the roof top Champagne Lounge,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was absolutely exhausting! By Wednesday, we had had enough! We packed our bags and said “Au Revoir” to Eden Roc, Paris was calling.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But, before we hopped on our next flight, shopping was required. So many rules, not enough time! Our mission: find an open air market with the most glorious flower, spice, cheese, and salami selection Antibes had to offer.
But then, stop in at the cutest fabric and home store in the whole entire world and not buy anything?

IMG_1532

IMG_1533IMG_1528

Fine, nothing purchased, but honestly to die for! P.S. I have all their contact info if you’re interested. Paris, here we come. I honestly wish I could tell you I went on a shopping extravaganza, unfortunately, this was a scouting trip. But have no fear, there was no shortage of eye candy! For instance, this linen ‘stand’ at France’s version of a “flea market”, yay right!

IMG_1553

And the hat shop to end all hat shops; from Derby worthy to tea with the Queen, this place had it all!

IMG_1559

The baby clothes, ah the baby clothes. Street after street was lined with fabulous french linens to wrap your munchkin in…

IMG_1616And of course, more home stores. This particular one was not open the entire time we were there. I walked by everyday hoping, wishing, praying, that they would have their door unlocked, but to no avail. I guess I’ll just have to go back, right Kate?

IMG_1617

Let me reiterate, my instructions were very clear. Do as much window shopping as humanly possible but make sure there is a healthy balance of three hour lunches involved. Some tasty morseles for your viewing pleasure…

IMG_1570Best steak frites place in all of Paris.  And the cheese plate for dessert, always!

IMG_1563

Honestly, the food pictures could be a blog post on their own, but I’ll spare you the jealousy. For all my hard work, I was rewarded with one very unique treasure. My mom and I were strolling through the afore mentioned ‘flea market’ when we stumbled across this piece…

skull

A skull pendant made out of coral. I immediately fell head over heals for it,  but it took my mom losing a bet to actually go back and purchased it for me. The stakes in Paris are so much more exciting. All and all, I’d say my R&D trip was a huge success, given my demanding schedule! I only hope that one day Kate and Josie can come along too.

kate and josie

And a huge thank you to my parents, for not only financing this endeavor, but providing a constant supply of entertainment and Parisian expertise. The trip would not have been the same without you.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All my love,

Allie

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Old Glory Ashley Whittaker – Small Space Decorating

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  July 8, 2013 at 8:01 AM

    Oh my gosh, what a fantastic getaway! How could you not had a great time during a escape to the French Rivera?!?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 360 other followers


