My Bedroom Before and After

May 14, 2013 at 5:29 AM 9 comments

I can’t believe I’m going to show you the before – cause it’s real bad y’all…real bad.  I find time and time again that everyone puts off the master bedroom last.  Well, I did just the same.

My headboard from my last apartment wasn’t working in our current space because we have really tall ceilings and I wanted to accentuate that.  So I sold this gorgeous headboard to a wonderful friend so I know it’s in a great home…

7085512_orig

And then my room looked like this for a few months…

IMG_3917

In my defense, I was pregnant and working like a dog.  But, then the January Cure came along for Apartment Therapy and I chose to concentrate on my bedroom.  I’m so happy I took on the challenge the month before giving birth to Josie because I now log a lot of hours in our bedroom with my sweet girl.  Here is the after…

DSC_2744

Here’s a little breakdown of what I did.  The biggest change of all was bringing in this bed from Cost Plus that was on crazy sale.  I loved the shape and the height it brought to the room and it’s linen, people.

DSC_2652

As you can see it’s a very tight space so I needed small bedside tables.  I used to have a beautiful garden stool as my bedside table but it didn’t hold any books.  I found this wonderful morrocan side table at Home Goods and I love how it fits my bajillion parenting and sleep training books so I can access them whenever I need them, like all the time.  I also framed a pic of Graham and I from our wedding and Little’s Ultrasound when she was the size of a gummy bear (let’s be honest, I usually don’t have fresh flowers by my bed).

DSC_2656

The bedding was the Home Goods score that I blogged about here.  I’m so happy I kept it as a “you’re about to have a baby” gift to myself.  The throw pillow is a love and it came frame a local shop.  The JuJu hat above is what I lugged from South Africa home four years ago (you can read about that here).  It was in our living room and I decided it needed a new spot  As I said, I wanted to play up the height of the bedroom so I moved the JuJu hat to above our headboard and I felt like the throw pillow played off of it well.

DSC_2678

We only have a built in corner cupboard for a closet it our bedroom.  A corner cupboard…terrible!  The upside?  We literally needed to get storage pieces for our stuff so I went with the beautiful bone inlay armoire.  Oh and the settee I found on Craigslist years ago for a steal sits at the foot of the bed with a pillow I picked up in Mexico on vacation.  There you have it.  The tiny but very much loved master bedroom of mine.

All photos of current bedroom taken by the wonderful and talented Alison Reiter…she can design AND photograph!  Photo from previous apartment by Michelle Drewes

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

To My Mom Framing Clothes

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmm  |  May 14, 2013 at 6:17 AM

    Mommy Kate, Your master is wonderful; the navy/white/coral scheme is classic and a bit edgy, too! Love the juju hat and my all time fav is the settee @ the end of your bed. . . practical and the shape is lovely. The addition of the pillow on the bed brings it all together and I want you to promise me you WILL (most) always have fresh flowers in your room. . . .you deserve it! dmm

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2013 at 10:29 AM

      Thank you so much!! Your comments ALWAYS make my day!! I love the idea of having more fresh flowers around…perhaps I will.

      Reply
  • 3. Erin // Clementine & Olive  |  May 14, 2013 at 7:45 AM

    Kate, your bedroom is beyond divine. I just love all the little details and think it’s probably my most favorite bedroom around right now! I hope little baby let you sleep in a little this morning. Your a hard working mama!

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2013 at 10:30 AM

      Thank you so much, Erin! Wow, that is so meaningful that it’s most favorite bedroom right now. Thank you! Little Josie did sleep in later then normal which was wonderful. 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Elizabeth @ The Little Black Door  |  May 14, 2013 at 9:51 AM

    What a great space! I love it all and I think I’m slightly obsessed with those sconces by the bed. Where did you get them?

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 14, 2013 at 10:30 AM

      Thank you! So sorry I forgot to list them – they are from Circa Lighting and they are the Library Sconce….they were a splurge but a love of mine.

      Reply
  • 7. Jill  |  May 14, 2013 at 11:36 AM

    One day, I hope to have my room styled so you can show your old headboard in it’s new home. A few more trips to Home Goods and I should be all set 🙂 And YES to fresh flowers! My fave!
    XO

    Reply
  • 8. Katie Waddell  |  May 14, 2013 at 12:57 PM

    This is absolutely fabulous Kate!!!

    Reply
  • 9. Ashley  |  May 15, 2013 at 6:09 AM

    I absolutely love it! Did I miss it–where is the inlaid chest from?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


