Birthday Buddies

March 1, 2013 at 7:30 AM 1 comment

As some of you may or may not know, Kate and I are actually cousins; her mom and my dad are brother and sister. Its been absolute joy working with a cousin/friend that I adore! For you loyal blog readers, you know that Kate’s father, Don (Uncle Don to me) passed away 4 years ago this March. Don was an amazing uncle, dad, grandfather, godfather, brother, brother in-law, husband, friend, confidant, and fly fisherman.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAOver the years, there have been wonderful sentiments shared about this amazing man on Kate’s blog, but what you don’t know is that him and I are in fact birthday buddies! Don’s birthday (and our Aunt’s, dedicated blog reader) is this Saturday, March 2 and mine is Monday the 4th. He called every year, without fail, to wish me well and share our respective birthday plans. I know that he only remembered my birthday because it was so close to his, regardless, it made me feel special because I doubt he called any of my siblings or cousins on theirs! Its the little things in life.

I dont think there is much left to say about the man that hasn’t already been said, but I just wanted to add my two cents as to what an extraordinary person he was and how much he is missed.

23A_00228

We all love and miss you, Uncle Don, on your birthday and always. I promise to celebrate mine close to a body of water with a stiff drink in hand, admiring a sunset  in honor of my Birthday Buddy…

Cheers!

Allie

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Black and White

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. don  |  March 1, 2013 at 4:46 PM

    well done Allie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


