The Eye Twitch

October 2, 2012 at 5:21 AM 3 comments

It all began from a place of complete relief and gratitude.  We had completed an echo exam for the baby, our final test, and all looks healthy for our baby girl.  To get the final okay from Dr’s, allowed for a huge sigh of relief.  We could rest easily.

Well, at least I thought I could rest easily.  Graham simply mentioned to me, “You should get working on the nursery.”  It was great advice and I was happy to get the go ahead.  I was also happy he understood that the nursery would be primarily my project with his occasional input.  However, the nursery soon became the equivalent to our wedding planning in terms of pressure to make it “perfect”, overwhelming feeling of choices and a reasonable budget to remain within.  When planning our wedding, I developed an eye twitch (not a gross twitch that is visible to people, it’s subtle where you really have to stare at my eye to notice it but I feel it) that remained for a couple of months.  Literally, months.  I also lost 15 pounds from stress.  I also planned our wedding for 400 people without a wedding planner in six months, while taking four classes for my masters, teaching full time, writing a masters thesis, and my dad was undergoing a ton of testing to figure out why he felt sick all the time.  In that situation, a perma eye twitch makes sense.

Here we are, fresh off the best news of our married lives that we have a healthy baby girl on the way and I’ve had an eye twitch for two weeks straight.  Eye twitch not warranted.  My obsessive tendencies and need for the nursery to be perfect need to take a breather. I worked myself into a tizzy over whether or not to go hot pink or baby pink.  Polka dot and gingham or Ikat and more graphic.  Animal themed or dresses and tutus.  A real dresser or a baby changer.  A glider or an antique rocking chair.  A gold or white crib.  Ric rac or pom pom trim.  You name it, I’ve thought of it and debated it.  From spending a couple grand on a custom glider to dropping a simple $150 on an Ikea chair, I have researched it.  From E-bay, Craigslist and ETSY vintage to custom, Serena and Lily or Jonathan Kaye brand new, I have tested it.  It’s exhausting and pathetic people.  I am my worst client ever.

Over the weekend, Graham and I were in Mill Valley when we stopped for some ice cream.  Across the street from the ice cream parlor, was a lightly used children’s shop.  Graham obliged on following me inside.  Here, I found the basis for the bedding.  It’s a Tea Collection knit pink and gray bumper and a tailored skirt.  I may change out the skirt to a custom one but I’m thrilled we now have a jumping off point.  Plus, we only paid a fraction of what I had budgeted.  Money saved here is money spent elsewhere in the room.

When I got the bedding home, I played with all of my fabrics and my favorite choice was this Shantung Silhouette print.  That will be the roman shade with a  pom pom trim.

Alleluia, we have a beginning.  Pale pink, gray and pale smokey blue for the color palate.  Soft sweet…read baby girl paper dress art and touches of chinoiserie.  I have landed on a plan.  I’m feeling good.  And you know what, my eye has pretty much stopped twitching.  I think I’ve backed away from crazy town and this will all come together.  I’m sure it won’t be perfect but baby girl will arrive and I’ll be exhausted and she’ll poop and throw up over everything and I won’t even care at all what the nursery looked like.  So, it should all work out.

To keep me in check, I plan to update photos as the nursery progresses.  Hopefully, you’ll all ooh and aahh and keep me off the plank to crazy town.  Little by little, I can get this done without the pressure.  Imagine that?!  After all, it is just a room.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Friday! Flower Ready

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  October 2, 2012 at 8:38 AM

    DELIGHTFUL IT WILL ALL WORK OUT. LOVE, MOM

    Reply
  • 2. Ashley  |  October 2, 2012 at 11:26 AM

    You’ve made some pretty great decisions so far, so I think you (and your twitchy eye) can rest easily. I know that’s easier sad than done, but I’m sure that it will all come together. Just remember that nothing is perfect but the only thing that will come close (and the only thing you should really concern yourself with) is that little girl you have coming. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. lauren  |  October 2, 2012 at 5:54 PM

    I adore that color scheme you chose. That is one lucky little baby girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 360 other followers


