Rocking It?

August 24, 2012 at 9:43 AM 4 comments

I’m a form over function type of gal.  For my personal home, if a chair is really uncomfortable but super pretty, I’ll take two.  Looks tend to rule the roost when it comes to furniture around here.

Yesterday, while looking for accessories for a client, I stumbled across this chair, on sale for $300.

It meets my criteria of being really cute and totally impractical.  I would love to use it for the nursery.  In some ways it’s practical…great price and it’s much more compact than all the gliders I’ve been looking at.  The nursery is teeny tiny and so we can’t get one of those huge, massive gliders.

However, this gray tufted chair isn’t all that comfortable and it doesn’t rock.  I’ve been told that rocking and comfort are a must.  Baby is already making me choose comfort over looks.  In no time, I’ll be sporting sweat pants every day (which sounds pretty awesome).

I think baby wins this one and the search continues.  I’m thinking I’ll go for a vintage rocker because they tend to be smaller and recover it in a favorite fabric of mine (tbd).  In a dream world, Amy Meier (who doesn’t know me) would read this post and give me her rocker in her adorable girl’s nursery.

Ah, to Friday dreams.  Happy Friday everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Yummy Mustard Dog Problems

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katy  |  August 24, 2012 at 9:46 AM

    It’s so fun to read about your ideas for a nursery! Can’t wait to rock your little baby to sleep while you take a nap.

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis Belchers  |  August 24, 2012 at 11:02 AM

    In my experience, I don’t think a rocker is all that important – but comfort definitely is.

    Reply
  • 3. Erin Bales  |  August 24, 2012 at 11:11 PM

    Hi Kate! I have the Klaussner Lacey Glider from Babies R US – and the shape looks very similar to the Amy Meier glider in your blog. I love it and it was very reasonably priced. I think it was $399 (plus you can use a 20% off coupon) – and then you could have your upholsterer reupholster it in a super cute fabric! Yay!

    Reply
  • 4. Alexis  |  August 25, 2012 at 10:58 PM

    This post is almost too close to home. Congrats on the baby news! I am having the same rocking chair dilemma. I’m also a form over function kind of gal, and I’ve been drooling over transitional wingback chairs like the tufted beauty you have above. I’ve at least conceded to the fact that I need a high enough back for head support, but that’s about as far as I’m going with comfort.

    I’ve finally decided that I don’t need a rocking/gliding chair, I think I’m a few months ahead of you in pregnancy so I’ll let you know how that decision went 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


