Shhhh…It’s a Surprise!

July 30, 2012 at 8:48 AM 6 comments

I’ve got a little surprise up my sleeve for my mom and I thought I’d share it with all of you.  She’s up in the mountains and she doesn’t have any access to internet so she won’t be finding out a thing.

You see about a year and a half ago, my mom came to me saying that she needed to replace the rug in her lanai.  It was old, ratted, dirty and had seen better days…

For about a year she would ask me to replace it with something else and I would respond, “Oh yeah, I’ll think about it mom.  But I just don’t have time.”  What a sweet daughter. 🙂

Finally, my mom was already coming up to the city so I told her to meet me at one of my favorite stores Lotus Bleu.  They are the only store in SF that carries Madeline Weinrib.  I had brought a pillow from her sofa and chairs and within 10 minutes I had picked out three options.  My mom arrived and I showed her them.  Within thirty seconds, she picked out the one.  And we were done.  So the entire selection process took 10 minutes and 30 seconds. To replace this worn out guy…

However, we had to get the rug custom made.  To get a Madeline Weinrib custom made of this size, or really of any size is a six to eight month wait.  They told me it would be ready in September, eight months after we had picked it out.  But, then I received a call that it was ready.  Over the weekend, Graham and I changed out the rug…

So even though Mom is patiently waiting for September, a full year and nine months after she started asking for a replacement.  It’s all ready and sitting pretty at her home now.

What a huge change it made in the room!  From this…

To this…

No wonder she was begging for the change for so long. 🙂  While in the room, I also spent some time checking out our gallery wall that I always just sort of walk right on by…

Check out how drop dead gorgeous my mom was on her wedding day…

The photo below always makes me laugh.  In like the late 80’s, early 90’s, we had professional shots taken of the family.  I even got to get a new dress for it.  I remember the photographer telling me to tuck my feet under my legs.  Well, with the dress over it, I really look like I don’t have any legs.  My brothers all made fun of me.  You can so tell that photo was from the 80’s with all the awesome haircuts.

Good times!!  By the way, you can barely see the rug in this shot but that’s the room that is next door to the lanai.  And the blues in each of the rug really compliment each other.

PS – If you’re wondering why the walls of the lanai are so textured that’s because the house is adobe, as in made from mud and straw…adobe.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Friday!! We’re Back

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katy  |  July 30, 2012 at 9:08 AM

    Love this post Kate, your mom will love it! Love seeing the house too. I’ve always enjoyed looking at that wall of photos, even though I don’t know anyone in them!

    Reply
  • 2. dmm  |  July 30, 2012 at 10:07 AM

    What a story. . . great new rug in the Hall; even better daughter to pull it all off!! (And yes, your Mother was stunning on her Wedding Day). Xd

    Reply
  • 3. Beatrice  |  July 30, 2012 at 11:00 AM

    What an improvement! AND how much fun to arrive home and have it already installed.

    Reply
  • 4. Karen Miller  |  July 30, 2012 at 5:20 PM

    Kate–I love it!! And your mother will too. What fun it would be to be a fly-on-the-wall when she walks in and sees it for the first time!
    Karen

    Reply
  • 5. Lauren  |  July 30, 2012 at 8:33 PM

    I love the new rug! It does add so much to the room. And you are so right…no legs. Great shoulder pads on your mom too!

    Reply
  • 6. don  |  August 6, 2012 at 3:49 PM

    rug looks awesome and that photo session was an out and out disaster. I was so hung over that I remember running out of the room shortly after to go through up in the kitchen sink. when mom caught me, she said that she and dad weren’t feeling too hot either. take a look at us again with that in mind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 360 other followers


