Dear Ikea

June 21, 2012 at 5:16 AM 7 comments

Dear Ikea,

Usually, when I write to you, it’s about the awesomeness of your product and how it doesn’t look or feel Ikea at all.  Sure your pieces SUCK to put together but once I get past…the drive to emeryville, lugging the heavy boxes, the “how did I spend that much at Ikea?” feeling, start putting together your furniture, have husband finish putting it together, get in a marital “why do you need this extremely hard to assemble piece of furniture?” spat, move furniture to correct space with blood sweat and tears…I’m thrilled with your store.

Domino

Not today.  Today I have a bone to pick with you.

You discontinued the Edland Four Poster Bed!!  Are you kidding me?  What in the world were you thinking?  Hmmm…it’s universally loved, designers use it everywhere, it’s been published 1 million 7 hundred ninety eight thousand times.  Yeah, that makes sense to discontinue it!

I feel like boycotting your store, but then I couldn’t pick up this cute blanket for cheap.

Bring it back Ikea!!!  Bring it back!!  Don’t make me wallow in the fact that I didn’t purchase it six months ago when I was overcome with the feeling that I needed the Edland Bed then and there.  Never thought of myself as a psychic.  But that obviously was my decor psychic powers at work.

Ugh.  Ikea.  Ugh.

Meet Me in Philadelphia

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sara Tuttle Interiors Outdoor Spaces

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  June 21, 2012 at 9:35 AM

    I was just about to type, “Hey, that’s my bed” and then I saw my bedroom! And, of course, I realized I might be rubbing it in that I have this discontinued bed. Have you tried Craigslist?

    It’s definitely an Ikea piece worth hunting for because it’s made of actual wood (unlike most Ikea pieces).

    Reply
  • 2. Cameron  |  June 21, 2012 at 9:36 AM

    You are so funny. I love your posts. They are always filled with great pictures and short meaningful text. Thanks

    Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  June 21, 2012 at 10:53 AM

    This is delightful. Great cute post about Ikea and the love hate relationship everyone seems to have. Love, Mom

    Reply
  • 4. dmm  |  June 21, 2012 at 9:45 PM

    You give it to ’em, Kate!! What WERE they thinking???????? It’s a great piece and they are nuts to discontinue it. . . maybe you’ve started a campaign. Hope so.

    Reply
  • 5. Kim@chattafabulous  |  June 22, 2012 at 9:57 AM

    Oh no! You have to wonder who makes decisions like this. That bed is a classic and will be forever stylish! I think
    Ashley may have the best idea – good luck!

    Reply
  • 6. Ann Williams  |  June 23, 2012 at 9:50 AM

    What were they thinking?!!! I have always thought I’d eventually replace our low platform ben in the guest room with that one. So sad. I bet they will be going for a pretty penny on craigstlist for a while.

    Reply
  • 7. molly  |  February 10, 2014 at 3:50 AM

    every time i find one on craigslist they sell it before i can buy it dang it! i think its stupid too to discontinue it too because everyone obviously loves this bed too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


