Dining in the Kitchen

May 24, 2012 at 5:18 AM 3 comments

The other day, Graham and I were over at a friend’s apartment.  Our friend has a very large open kitchen and then a spot off of the kitchen that is more of a nook for the dining table.  He wanted room for a larger dining table.  I suggested to him to move his dining area into his huge open kitchen.  Graham and our friend looked at me like I was grade A crazy.  To prove that it isn’t quite time to drop me off at the funny farm, let me show you some truly fabulous ways to plop a dining room table right smack dab into the middle of a kitchen.

I say, if you’ve got the space, you love to throw parties and you don’t mind people seeing the dirty dishes stack up, go for dining in the kitchen!!  Isn’t it always where everybody congregates anyways?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Small Space Huge Character Project Progress Update

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Don  |  May 24, 2012 at 9:08 AM

    Perfect but where do you put the dinning room table the 360 days a year you’re not using it? I love the look and idea as dinning rooms are so often under utilized space. They should have a table that drops out of the ceiling or reversible island tops.

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis Hayward  |  May 24, 2012 at 10:11 AM

    I agree, and it’s so informal and relaxed.

    Reply
  • 3. The Vintique Object  |  May 27, 2012 at 10:03 PM

    Funny, I was considering a similar post! I love the idea of this so much, more so than using an island, but since I’ve never had either, I have no idea what would be more practical. But if everyone is going to hang-out in the kitchen anyway, why not eat there too. That last kitchen is one of my favorites, BTW. I love that the homeowner put that slab up at counter height so he can cut vegetables and talk to his guests at the same time. Or so I read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 360 other followers


