Neon On my Mind

May 2, 2012 at 5:34 AM 3 comments

For Christmas, my sister-in-law gave Graham a pair of tickets to Coldplay.  This was an awesome gift idea as he has loved Coldplay ever since he saw them while studying abroad in Copenhagen; he saw them in a small gym, before they are who they are now.  I was happy that Graham was thrilled with the gift.  But, I’ve got to be honest that my feelings were only slightly elevated from dread to go.  I know, I know, poor me, I had to “suffer” through a Coldplay concert.

But, I have to admit as those tickets sat magnetized to our refrigerator, I would shudder a little when my eyes would happen upon them as I opened the freezer for ice-cream.  Concerts aren’t really my thing.  I enjoyed them in high school and college but that wasn’t exactly for the music.  As this Saturday rolled around, it was time to put my game face on and go fake a good time with my hubby.

When we arrived at the San Jose arena, we were given a neon wristband and were told to wear it as it was part of the show.  The neon addition to my outfit was perking me up for sure.  We then got some beer and popcorn (major plus) and headed to our seats.  After the two, not so enjoyable, first acts, the arena went dark and the crowd started cheering.  All of sudden, the entire arena’s neon wrist bands lit up.  It was pure magic to watch a sea of neon pink, green and yellow.  I was in color heaven.  Coldplay came onstage and played their hearts out.  I never sat down, I never stopped singing, and I never stopped smiling.  It was amazing!!  A true spectacle of a show and the best concert I have ever been to.

The neon got me to thinking of interiors; here are some places I’m thinking Coldplay would be into…

Apartment Therapy

Lexington Venue Agency

Siljie Aune Eriksen

I can’t say that I’ll be suggesting neon to any clients but the rooms do have a lot of vibrant energy to them, as did the concert.  Could you do neon in your home?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Imperial Trellis In the Mail…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katy  |  May 2, 2012 at 9:02 AM

    Neon is so in right now, I think the colors look great in the rooms. I’m sure you’d grow tired of it though. But it is definitely a fun trend!

    Reply
  • 2. Shannon Foote  |  May 2, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    Picture 1, 2 or 3 didn’t make it in the neon post? haha j/k Coldplay does sound like an awesome concert.

    Reply
  • 3. bridget  |  May 2, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    i kind of LOVE those neon red stools. they look especially good in the all white room. also love that you had such a great time! of course i wanted graham to love it but it is even better that you did too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


