Vanity in Progress

April 25, 2012 at 5:15 AM 5 comments

Remember this post on my little scheme to put together a vanity?  Well, I’ve purchased the desk where all my vain happenings will take place.

I got it for $25 on Craigslist.  I obviously am in love with the brass pulls and it’s a kid size so it’s perfect in that it doesn’t take up too much space.  Now, here’s where the big question comes in…to paint or not to paint.  The wood is actually in good condition and it is real wood.  But, it’s not the stain that I would love it to be.  Staining wood is totally different territory for me and to scary for me to try out at this time.  So, do I leave it be or do I paint it?

There is painted inspiration aplenty out there…

Henry Happened

Home to Three Duncan Boys

Re-Pretty Please

Because I Like to Decorate

Centsational Girl 

My Many Moments

I have gone down the path of painting campaign furniture before and I loved the change.  Remember this guy?

Which ended up looking like this…

However, since I have done it before, I learned that painting takes work.  Hmmm…is it worth the challenge?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Gardening the Deck Babysittin’

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. vignettehome  |  April 25, 2012 at 6:08 AM

    Always painful to paint over perfectly good wood! But a vanity may dictate a more “glam” look that a higher gloss/color offers. Maybe play around with some vignettes–add accessories in a mix of materials/finishes and see how it looks and feels in the natural wood before pulling the trigger? In any case, it’s a great piece at a great price–look forward to seeing the final result.

    Reply
  • 2. Kate  |  April 25, 2012 at 6:26 AM

    Hi Kate, I recently discovered your blog and have been enjoying all your posts! I adore this beautiful vanity and all of the images that you have collected of painted ones. I agree about the hard work involved in painting – something that I discovered myself on a recent project. As vignette home suggested – perhaps you could style it as is and live with it a little. How about a cute upholstered chair or x bench to add a touch of glamour? Kate xx

    Reply
  • 3. Ashley  |  April 25, 2012 at 6:28 AM

    While I love a good coat of glossy paint, have you thought of maybe a white pickled stain for it? I’e seen some pieces that are pickled recently that look really light and fresh. I have read this product is good: http://www.amazon.com/Minwax-61860-Quart-White-Pickling/dp/B000BZTJDI

    Reply
  • 4. dmm  |  April 25, 2012 at 7:19 AM

    Kate, I am in love w/ the bluish grey stained/painted piece . . . w/ the pewter hardware it just “speaks to me”! Would something like that work w/ your find? Keep us posted on your decisions and outcome. dmm

    Reply
  • 5. The Vintique Object  |  April 25, 2012 at 2:42 PM

    Would love to know where it is going. But that green is so, so fabulous. Reminds me of the green piece that you saw in New York?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 362 other followers


