Palm Springs Recap

April 10, 2012 at 9:21 AM 4 comments

This weekend topped the charts in fun, relaxation, shopping and eating.  For a quick weekend jaunt to the dessert, it felt like we went to a far off land.  Just the 80 degree weather and pool time was enough to whisk us away from our current rain and dreary northern california days that it felt like we were on another planet.  The food was amazing, from piled high fruit filled french toast to lobster ravioli swimming in basil bisque, we ate with the motto of “calories don’t count on vacation”.  There were so many highlights of the trip but it all comes down to the design and the decor for me.

Friday night, we headed out to an old Palm Springs staple Le Vallauris.  This restaurant takes you back to the days when Palm Springs was all about the Rat Pack and when Marilyn Monroe strutted around Canyon Drive.  It had an old school charm as waiters served you in Tuxedos and they plopped a large easel by your table to read the menu.  We sat outside, amongst lupe ficus trees and slowly slurped our rich food. I had the lobster ravioli bisque and Graham went with the rack of lamb.  Overloaded on cream and butter, we couldn’t even think about going out for drinks afterwards.  We were sound asleep by about 9:45.

Saturday morning, we had the most stunning stop on our whirlwind Palm Springs tour: The Parker Hotel.  I was giddy from the moment I stepped foot on the grounds.  But, I was also flying high with expectations that I felt could be hard to meet.  Let me tell you Jonathan Adler not only met my expectations but exceeded them with his colorful and eclectic design.  I walked around the lobby trying my very hardest to contain myself and letting out a few “Oh my God”s when I was just too blown away by the beauty.

We had a very civilized brunch at Normas at The Parker, where we absolutely stuffed our faces with decadence.  Graham got the fruit stuffed waffle and I got the berry brioche french toast.  We were as happy as can be with our meals and the light easy going atmosphere of the place.

After brunch, we took a stroll around the grounds.  This is really when we both fell head over heels for the place.  The vegetation felt very similar to South Africa and you actually forget that you are in a desert at all.  After strolling the grounds, we found a hammock and took a little snooze there as if we owned the place.  Really snoozes I’m sure are meant for paying guests but we did make a pact to return and stay there one day.

After our leisurely nap, it was time to get going on what I had come down there for.  The hunt!!  (If you feel sorry that Graham had to come along furniture shopping – don’t worry this was his retribution for our 7 days of 8 hour fly fishing in Alaska.  He managed just fine sitting in comfortable chairs reading sports on his I-phone).

Tomorrow, I will post the goodies that I found but passed up.  But, today, I shall show you what came home with me.

My biggest purchase was a stool with beautiful fretwork on the legs.  I absolutely love it and I can’t wait to get it recovered and a new coat of paint on it.  I’m considering going Trina Turk with the fabric, to keep in line with the desert feel.  I’ll def. show you after shots once it is ready.

I also grabbed this wonderful tray that has a nice colonial feel to it.  It’s funny because it’s more like a piece I would expect to pick up while antique shopping on the East Coast.  But, I fell in love with it and I think it’s the perfect fit for our living room.

My last piece that I picked up was a small vintage Yves Saint Laurent clutch for $8.  I loved the simplicity of it.

After walking around a bazillion consignment and antique shops, Graham was hitting the end of his rope for patience.  So we went to the golf store and he tested out some new drivers.  Once we were both happy with our shopping and golfing excursions, we hit up our hotel pool and made great friends with some other guests.

That evening, we had dinner at the Viceroy.  Once again, I went in with high expectations to see Kelly Wearstler’s work in person.  I was most definitely wowed but I’m sorry to say it wasn’t as magical as the Parker.  The two hotels have very different feels to them though.  I did love that each room had a porcelain dog and that she used fun white wicker pieces throughout.  The yellow and white tile work in the front lobby is take your breath away beautiful.  As for our meal, the Viceroy Burger was amazing but the meatloaf was dry and just so so.

We did have a celebrity sighting here of the Van De Kamps from Real Housewives of Beverly Hills and their dog Jiggy.  It was thrilling and I would have asked for a picture for the blog but it just wasn’t the right atmosphere to do so.  After our dinner, I felt I could channel Mrs. Whistler.  In no way could I pull the shot off like she did, or take myself seriously enough.  Can’t believe I am sharing this embarrassing moment…

The final day was spent eating (surprise, surprise).  This time we went to Jack’s that had such a wonderful design and ambiance to it.  I loved how they used stripes throughout the restaurant.  I had the eggs benedict and Graham went for the Tortilla Ranceros.  Both delicious.

Afterwards, we walked around town and it was finally time for me to go into the Trina Turk shop.  HOWEVER, look at what I found.

The Trina Turk Residence store was closed for reconstruction and it would reopen just a mere 7 days later.  So sad.  I did love her Trina Turk clothing store and she did have some residential beauties there…

Finally, we ended our trip with a tram ride up to the top of this gorgeous mountain and did some hiking.  It was absolutely beautiful up there and after a weekend of smelling suntan lotion and chlorine, it was nice to get out amongst the fir trees and to get some fresh air.

All in all the trip was perfection!  It was everything I could ask for and more.  Graham also had a great time, although the shopping wasn’t without some griping.  He did mention that he can’t wait for our next fly fishing trip, which naturally has me thinking of our next scouting trip.  I’m thinking Paris Flea Market.  When I told this to Graham, he said, “There is no way that I’m flying all the way to Paris to go to a flea market”  Fair.  But I have a feeling we’ll do some other things in Paris as well…like, eating.  I just got to get through another fishing trip…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

First Impressions What I Left Behind…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmm  |  April 10, 2012 at 10:49 AM

    Yes! I just knew you two would love our desert town. . . (!) That you fell in love w/ The Parker says it all. . . while our 4 night stay @ The Viceroy last December was lovely, our NEXT hotel of choice will be Parker Palm Springs! I didn’t know about Le Vallauris and have now noted it my P. S. file; thank you. And the ‘finds’ you brought home are wonderful; and the green braided bracelet just made your outfit that day! Look forward to seeing the fretwork legged stool when it has been “Kate Collins-ized” . . . dmm

    Reply
  • 2. regan  |  April 10, 2012 at 3:43 PM

    Kate, who makes that amazing rope bracelet???It is fantastic!

    Reply
    • 3. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 10, 2012 at 5:31 PM

      Thank you so much!! I got it at this awesome little boutique in Chicago called: Space 519 – http://www.space519.com/her/ I’m not sure if they still sell it but it’s worth a shot. They specialize in smaller labels and artists and they have a really great eye.

      Reply
  • 4. The Vintique Object  |  April 12, 2012 at 11:42 PM

    I’ve had so much fun catching up on your trip and all of your amazing finds! I have to tell you that I have a pair of Chinese Chippendale chairs with the EXACT same fretwork pattern as your stool.

    Your hubby was a good sport for going along with you. Maybe I should try to get some mileage out the trip we just took to Phoenix for spring training (baseball).
    Camille

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 360 other followers


