Thinking Outside of Black and White

March 14, 2012 at 11:26 AM 2 comments

Certainly it must come across on this blog that I love color.  I am happiest when I’m surrounded by bright colors in my home.  However, one place where I usually stick with black and white is with framing.  I had the opportunity to think outside of black and white frames when framing vintage toothpaste ads for my orthodontist’s bathroom project.  I decided to pull out the dominant color of yellow in all three ads and I brought the bright cheery color to the frame.

I’m happy with the way it turned out and I just don’t think that white or black frames would have had the same effect in the room…

Have you ever though outside of black, white, gray or wood for your frame?

Another great way to involve color in the framing process is to go with a colorful matte.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Shopping Kids It’s Happening!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bridget  |  March 14, 2012 at 11:33 AM

    i sanded down some cheap black frames from aaron brothers and then painted them a high gloss pink to match the trim in my studio. it was an easy project, they ended up looking great and the art looked really cohesive in the space. it was also a good way to get cool colorful frames without spending a lot of money!

    Reply
  • 2. The Vintique Object  |  March 14, 2012 at 9:39 PM

    I am so happy to see this mix of colors in frames! I’m working on my girl’s room now and have been considering doing colored mats to bring more color to one side of the room. I’m just so afraid of using all that color (being a neutral person), but this proves it can look really nice. Always good to have an example, right?
    Camille

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


