Handyman Graham

March 12, 2012 at 9:05 AM 6 comments

Once every five or six months or so, I get the help of Handyman Graham.  He works exclusively with me.     He’s incredibly difficult to book; rumor has it that he has a day job in finance.  When the day finally comes where I have him booked, he will try to put the job off with things like “exercise” and “grocery shopping” (both so annoyingly necessary).  When he will do the job, he’s very different from other vendors in that he will ask that I do the laundry while he puts up the sconces (less for the dirty clothes sake and more for need to get wife out so she doesn’t micro manage sake).  And when he is done with the long hard day of work and you finish up with dinner, he will give you a wet willy (like a 12 year old) and laugh until he cries (he should count his lucky stars I grew up with three older brothers and I actually find his pranks endearing).

I tell you though, this handyman Graham is the best and I love him, childish pranks and all.  And I’m so, so, so thankful that this past weekend, he put up our Boston Library Wall Light from Circa Lighting.  The bedroom was in some serious need of help above the headboard.  Here is the before (we actually had some artwork up but I had already taken it down)…

Handyman Graham at work…

And the after…

The sconces look awesome in person!!  The artwork, for above the headboard,will be ordered today and hopefully I will be able to hang that up myself (in order to save myself from a wet willy).  I’d also like to give our headboard another coat of high gloss white paint.  I can’t wait until we have the bedroom totally done!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Cutest Waste Bin Ever Shopping Kids

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Don  |  March 12, 2012 at 9:13 AM

    Great job cutting out all the clothes and stuff on the floor in the pictures!

    Reply
  • 2. Allie  |  March 12, 2012 at 10:07 AM

    The sconces look wonderful! I love the gold against the bedroom paint color. Great job, Kate AND Graham : )

    Reply
  • 3. Lindsay  |  March 12, 2012 at 11:05 AM

    You have to rehang them, dude. They’re an eighth of an inch unlevel.

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis  |  March 12, 2012 at 12:46 PM

    I didn’t know he was so talented!

    Reply
  • 5. Ashley  |  March 12, 2012 at 2:43 PM

    I have my own version, except his name is Handyman Adam. The sconces look fabulous! Looking forward to seeing more of the changes you are making in your room!

    Reply
  • 6. The Vintique Object  |  March 13, 2012 at 4:25 PM

    They look really great, Kate. You are lucky! In my house, I’m the handyman.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


