Project Reveal

February 7, 2012 at 9:00 AM 12 comments

Today, I’m happy to share with you the rest of the reveal of the orthodontist office: Los Altos Orthodontics.  I had the opportunity to show the new and improved waiting room to Dr. Boschken  and his family.  His four kids were so happy with the place that they were jumping up and down with excitement.  His three daughters pretty much immediately sat at the coffee table on the poufs and started coloring away.  I was thrilled to see my vision in action.  Now that you’ve seen an after shot, let’s take a look at the before…

The clients asked for a place that would be inviting for children and they requested to create a sort of retreat spot for parents.  The only thing that was to stay was the flooring and a coffee station (not shown in the above photo).  The clients then set out finding people who needed the furniture they currently had and I set out for a whole new look.  To create the mom oasis, I went for two large wingback chairs by the window sunlight with a cute little side table for a spot to put their coffee and even a throw blanket in case they would like to get really comfy.

As I mentioned in this post, I love the lines on a panton chair ; I thought they’d be perfect for an orthodontist office since they would look like teeth: glistening white, straight teeth.  I lined up the panton chairs against the far wall.

Above the “teeth chairs,” I wanted to focus on the wonderful outcome of an orthodontist appointment, which is a beautiful smile.  I put up a gallery wall with different Smile posters I found on ETSY.

Working our way across the room, there is a coffee table that I wanted to double as a little work station for kids.  I was told that kids would often do their homework around the ottoman in their old set up.  I wanted to make this more useful for them by providing a table that was easy for kids to put their legs under and had a hard surface for them to work on.  I then got some colorful poufs (which I blogged about here) for them to use for seats around the table.

No work station is complete without color pencils and crayons…

Another seating option that was requested was a comfy spot where a parent could sit with two of their kids on either a settee or a bench of some sorts.  Since we were going with a  black, white and sand motif, I went with a striped Sunbrella fabric and got them a custom made bench to sit under the window.  I envision a mom reading a story to her kids here…

In order to read a story, you need children’s books.  I felt that the children’s books needed a fun spot of their own and so I used a corner wall to hang book slings:

Children aren’t the only ones that need reading material in a waiting room.  Isn’t the best part of a waiting room, the magazines?  I put this fun little side table by the coffee station so parents could find some reading material for themselves while they make their coffee…

Above the magazine side table, I’ve got another SMILE sign.  Next to it, you’ll see the coffee station and the staff photo wall above that.

Phew…I think I’ve shown you every single inch.  And as a refresher – the custom bench we did in the back room…

My clients were so pleased that they’ve asked I give the bathroom a little spruce up.  I’ve got all the items for the new and improved bathroom ordered, but I’m just waiting for the items to arrive.  Here is a sneak peak of one piece that will be going up…

Nothing like Norman Rockwell to make you smile.  I hope you enjoyed the reveal.  Now I’m off to work on more projects so that I will have new posts to share with all of you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

You Decide… Jay Jeffers’ Home

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  February 7, 2012 at 10:06 AM

    Kate, I’m absolutely crazy about this! Way to make a dentist’s office like a family room. Any chance you can share the source of the coffee table? I’m desperate for a new option for my living room…feel free to email me if it’s a secret! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. regan  |  February 7, 2012 at 10:30 AM

    kate, it looks fantastic! We are in need of some new tables, and a new arrangement for our living room, so once we decide to make it happen…I’m calling you! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  February 7, 2012 at 10:35 AM

    WOW, GREAT work! My 15 years as an orthodontics patient would have been so much more pleasant in this type of office. Very impressed!

    Reply
  • 4. dmm  |  February 7, 2012 at 10:38 AM

    There is only one word for this ‘Reveal’. . . brilliant! Kate, you have transformed a very run of the mill, dreary space into a haven for any child(or parent) to look forward to coming to! The colors and attention to detail are spot on and the poufs around the coffee table touch my “Kindergarten Teacher’s” heart. . . way beyond smart, the entire design borders on stunning! If I might suggest one addition(and it may well exist but just not be visible in the photos) is a child-height hung mirror for the kids to admire their OWN smile as they complete treatment. . . (!) bravo, dear Kate, you have hit a major homerun on this one. dmm

    Reply
  • 5. Blue Hydrangea  |  February 7, 2012 at 11:17 AM

    So good!!

    Reply
  • 6. The Vintique Object  |  February 7, 2012 at 1:38 PM

    The panton charis as teeth — that’s just brilliant. Kudos on the design — it’s wonderful, but I can’t say that I’m surprised by that.
    Camille

    Reply
  • 7. Glynnis  |  February 7, 2012 at 6:52 PM

    Excellent!

    Reply
  • 8. Lauren Stradford  |  February 8, 2012 at 2:13 AM

    Absolutely stunning! I love every inch of it. You did an amazing job.

    Reply
  • 9. Beatrice  |  February 8, 2012 at 7:02 AM

    That must be the coolest waiting room I have ever seen! Very well thought out—congratulations. The teeth chairs are especially cool.

    Reply
  • 10. Katie  |  February 8, 2012 at 9:30 AM

    Kate this looks amazing!!!!!!!!!!!! I love the navy chairs with the nailheads! Well done friend!

    Reply
  • 11. Nat  |  February 8, 2012 at 10:49 AM

    This looks fantastic!!! Awesome job!!! As someone who has spend many yrs in dentist and orthodontist offices it’s refreshing to see a fun, colorful waiting room instead of the standard blah maroon, green and tan.
    Those chairs look just like teeth!

    Reply
  • 12. Julia Buckingham Edelmann  |  February 8, 2012 at 11:31 AM

    Congratulations!!! What a huge transformation!
    I meant to leave you a comment all day yesterday about how much I love it.
    Sorry a day late :0
    xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


