Don’t Forget the Foot

January 31, 2012 at 5:14 AM 2 comments

One thing that we are lucky to have in our current bedroom, that we didn’t have in our last, is space for a bench at the foot of a bed.  Putting a bench, stools or a settee at the end of a bed is not a groundbreaking design tip; rather it is a tried and true one that works every time.  I’m hoping to use a bench that used to be in my bedroom growing up and is an antique that my grandparent’s bought.  Once I pick it up, I’ll show you a picture of it.  Until then, let’s look at how great benches are at providing seating and adding visual interest…

ETSY is a great place to shop for some interesting, usually affordable gems for the foot of the bed.

If you have an upholstered headboard and lots of layers of bedding, I like to juxtapose all that upholstery with a rustic wooden bench – this one would do the trick.

If you’re feeling groovy, some Paul Frank fabric and faux bamboo would work for you.

I also love the look of two stools at the end of a full sized bed or at the foot of two matching twin beds.  This little pop of color would be fabulous in a kid’s room.

If you have enough room for a settee at the foot of a bed, first of all, count yourself lucky and second of all, snatch up this settee.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Inspiration for Bedroom On The Hunt…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  January 31, 2012 at 7:19 AM

    I have my great great grandmother’s teaster bed which is a statement in itself so my fabrics are solid accented with monogrammed pillows. For pizazz, at the foot of the bed I have a wonderful bench upholstered in zebra hide. It really sets the entire room off. Because I love the look so much I even manage to keep it free of yesterday’s cast off clothes!
    Looking forward to seeing your bench.

    Reply
  • 2. dmm  |  January 31, 2012 at 7:24 AM

    Love the Foot! I couldn’t live w/o a bench/sofa @ the end of our bed. . . so functional and comfortable. Great inspiration from the ones you featured; look forward to seeing your bedroom as it evolves. . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


