Looking Back at 2011

January 20, 2012 at 5:30 AM 9 comments

Before leaving for Mexico for the holidays, I put together a post looking back at last year.  But, I never set up a time to post it and now it’s been sitting in my drafts.  I figure since I took the time to look back, I might as well share this post.  So here we go – mid January – a look back at 2011.

January:

Inspired by the colorful photos of my clients trips to Africa and Mexico, I designed a colorful, playful guest room that also doubles as a kid’s playroom.

February:

Inspired by the birthday gift of a surfboard for my husband, I decorated a tablescape for his party that had us all dreaming for warm California days.

March:

Feeling the need to rearrange, I showed you all the different seating options I had for our dining room table.

April:

The April showers brought on the need for change and I went for a drastic haircut, complete with new bangs.

May:

Inspired by the dreamy east coast Atlantic homes, I created a little oasis for my clients to hang in their light filled family room.

June:

Graham and I headed out for the adventure of a lifetime, fishing in Alaska.

July:

In July, picture popped up in my inbox from an e-design I worked on.  I’ve got to make it out to Nashville to see the room in person!

August:

The end of August brought about moving time.  Graham and I moved into our new digs which we are thankful for every day.

September:

One of my largest projects of 2011, Bumble Play Cafe, opened to the public.  It is now a bustling happy place that you must visit!

October:

I shared with you some peaks into my world of staging as I worked for a design idol of my: Ken Fulk.

November:

November brought along a treasure hunt which resulted in these two creepy yet cherished “Victorian Visitors” residing in our home.

December:

This month I gave a little tiny sneak peak into one of the many projects I’m working on with some made over Craigslist chairs.

January has been full steam ahead for me.  I had the orthodontist office installation and I’ve brought on three more clients.  I have been amazed by the generosity and support from all of my clients and I absolutely love working for each one of them.  I’m very interested to see what the “Looking Back at 2012” post will look like.  Until then, on with the work.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Latest Obsession… Black and White Bathrooms

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aimee  |  January 20, 2012 at 9:23 AM

    What a great year! I hope 2012 brings you everything you’re dreaming of. Xx

    Reply
  • 2. dmm  |  January 20, 2012 at 9:24 AM

    Kate, love the re-cap; I’ve been following your blog for about a year and can’t imagine not seeing what your creative, fabulous design sense comes up w/ next. . . massive appreciation for sharing. dmm

    Reply
  • 3. Jaclyn  |  January 20, 2012 at 9:43 AM

    What a year! It was so fun witnessing your projects and advancement in your career! So happy (and jealous) for you! Cheers to 2012.

    Miss you!

    Reply
  • 4. Katy  |  January 20, 2012 at 10:55 AM

    How nice to see all of that! Especially in the doldrums of late January. Great work, so very impressed by you daily!

    Reply
  • 5. Cameron  |  January 20, 2012 at 11:51 AM

    Very impressive year. All of your work is so uplifting. Looking forward to 2012. Love and look forward to your updates!

    Reply
  • 6. Glynnis  |  January 20, 2012 at 12:24 PM

    It was a good year Kate.

    Reply
  • 7. The Vintique Object  |  January 20, 2012 at 3:39 PM

    Hi Kate, I continue to be so impressed with your work. It was fun to get a look back since I didn’t discover your blog until this summer. I still really want to take my girls to Bumble Play Cafe!!
    Camille

    Reply
  • 8. Lauren Stradford  |  January 20, 2012 at 4:48 PM

    What a great recap Kate!! It’s fun to revisit all you you have accomplished. Can’t wait to see everything in store for 2012!!

    Reply
  • 9. Nat  |  January 22, 2012 at 1:37 PM

    It looks like 2011 was a great year!! Here’s to an even better 2012!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


