My Festive Tablescape

December 22, 2011 at 5:30 AM 5 comments

Hi All,

Happy almost Christmas!  Don’t you think it’s about time I do some festive holiday posts?  I mean it is the 22nd for crying out loud.

Last weekend, we had Graham’s family over for a celebration.  It is my mother-in-law’s birthday on Christmas day and so we had a combo birthday/early Christmas lunch/dinner.  I had a great time doing a festive table.

Here’s how it ended up…

I am kicking myself that I didn’t iron out the tablecloth.  I had it folded for quite some time and I’ve never used it before.  I’ve always planned to make it into pillows.  But, that hasn’t happened so I wanted to use it as it was meant to be used.  I thought I’d test it out and add on some layers to get a general sense of the look and then take it apart and iron the tablecloth.  That didn’t happen.  I tried out the look, like it the first go around and didn’t iron a thing – predictable.

I was very happy to have the chance to use our formal china, the new tablecloth I got at a flea market and the gold cutlery I found at my local resale shop.  Everything I already had at home, except for the flowers.  My tip is to layer on items that you wouldn’t think of putting on to the table.  For example, the gold monk bells I used on the centerpiece are usually on display on our bookshelf.  I love to bring a little life to the table plus I got to share the story of where I found them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Overnight Babysit Happy Holidays

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmm  |  December 22, 2011 at 9:34 AM

    Merry (almost) Christmas, Kate! The table is wonderful; the monk bells and merlot velvet ribbon are my favs; and w/ the contrasting , unexpected ‘blue’ it really sings. We are here in Palm Springs w/ our girls and we’re staying @ The Viceroy. Kelly Wrearsler (sp?) did the ‘re-design’ and it’s fabulous; totally Hollywood Regency meets the Movie Star ’40’s. . . Alli loves her work and had read about it, so we’re here soaking it all in. Put it on your list of So. Ca. places to be; you’d LOVE it. XXd

    Reply
  • 2. Allie Ottoboni  |  December 22, 2011 at 11:00 AM

    Beautiful tablescape, Kate!

    Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  December 22, 2011 at 11:33 AM

    Looks great! It’s amazing what you can whip up from what’s already in the house. I LOVE the China! I love that you’re using it!

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis  |  December 22, 2011 at 12:52 PM

    I can tell you that it was quite beautiful and very festive. The dinner was excellent too, and this MIL felt very indulged! Thank you DIL….

    Reply
  • 5. The Vintique Object  |  December 27, 2011 at 11:27 PM

    Oh, Girl! Plum, blue, and gold? Dang.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


