New Drapes Reveal

December 12, 2011 at 5:42 AM 8 comments

Christmas came early for me!  Well, actually it had nothing to do with the holiday and everything to do with my wonderful client.  You see, I’ve had this gorgeous vintage fabric from the 60s’s WAITING to be made into drapes for our sun room.  But with each passing month, the fabric sat and collected dust and I never got around to getting them made.

We are getting custom drapes made for my client and I found a new workroom with fantastic rates but I didn’t want my client’s drapes to be the guinea pig.  So, in went my vintage fabric and out came beautiful drapes.  I couldn’t be more pleased with the quality.

I went with a pinch pleat and white grosgrain banding to give it a more tailored look.

I also love how the drapes tie in with my orange Oomph side table…

I got a simple brass drapery rod and rings from Pottery Barn.  BUT, I’m waiting for the day when my dear husband has time to raise the rod up.  I’ll have the drapes lightly gracing the floor and they’ll be hanging above the window.  This is a great designer tip – always hang your drapes higher and wider then your window to make the window appear larger.  Here’s a cute little visual…

After pictures to come, once I convince Graham to move the rod from where the previous renters had it.  The “projects” for him to do around the house never end.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Going Back to the Old School Bergere Chairs: Before and After

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Blue Hydrangea  |  December 12, 2011 at 8:25 AM

    they look great!!! and I love that pillow on your couch. Did you get the fabric on ebay? I think I have the same fabric in blue and I have been hoarding it waiting for the perfect project!

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  December 12, 2011 at 9:14 AM

      Thank you! Yes, that is the fabric from ebay. I first saw the fabric over at Full House and I knew I had to have it. Can’t wait to see what you do with yours!

      Reply
  • 3. dmm  |  December 12, 2011 at 8:59 AM

    hooray for the new drapery! Thanks for sharing the tip about “higher/wider” w/ readers; it so expands the feel of the window being way larger and grander. . . the white grosgrain is so”Kate Collins”, adds panache w/ a nod to the preppy East Coast vibe. That sunroom is wonderful and the exaggerated lumbar pillow is the’ cherry on top’! xxd

    Reply
  • 5. lauren  |  December 12, 2011 at 10:37 AM

    Love those drapes! So bright and cherry. That is amazing how much bigger the window looks in your drawing with the right placement. What a difference!

    Reply
  • 6. The Vintique Object  |  December 12, 2011 at 5:46 PM

    Love, love, love the pattern and color of these drapes. You GO for being bold and brave. I so admire that.

    First time I actually put into practice the “high and wide” theory, I was shocked at what a difference it made the rooms. Made my cheapy Ikea curtains hung in our shabby apartment suddenly made both look nicer and more expensive.
    Camille

    Reply
  • 7. Anna  |  December 12, 2011 at 11:13 PM

    Kate, I love this. Great job picking out the fabric. That room is adorable. It just needs an Anna on that couch with a Kate and a glass of wine. And I love the orange side table.

    Reply
  • […] Cloth drapes – Google Web-log Search […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


