Alameda Antique Faire: Coveted, Questioned & Purchased

December 6, 2011 at 10:36 AM 8 comments

This past Sunday was a gorgeous, crisp, clear sun drenched day and so I did the obvious thing and spent it outdoors at the Alameda Antiques Faire.

Here are some of the items I came across – some I coveted, others I questioned, and a few I purchased.

Coveted:

These large reinder antlers were awesome.  They remind me very much of this all time favorite house designed by Lucus Studio:

The dealer was asking $95, which is a great price for the size.  I wanted to put it over our bed but wasn’t sure what Graham would think about it if I arrived home with these.  When I showed him the photo, he said he liked them but then said “what if it fell off during an earthquake and poked our eyes out?”.  Well, now that I’ve written it here, it would surely happen.  Jinxed it.

Coveted:

This pillow was newly made from vintage fabric and it matches the fabulous vintage drapes I just had made for our sunroom (pics to come ASAP).  I just felt I couldn’t come home with yet another pillow.  I have pillow problems.

Coveted:

I have a thing for oversized vintage letters and this green F with the gold outline was massive.

What in the world would I do with a giant F?  I think I would have to get a dog, name it Frank and hang it above the doggy bed.

Coveted:

Brass drum.

I’m into brass like all other design bloggers out there.  But not so into it that I’m going to take up the drums.  I thought it would be cool to get mirror cut for it and turn it into a mirror.

It was only $75 and I was tempted.  Luckily, my brother and sister in law were there and they talked me out of my conversion idea.  They said how it would need to be welded in and it’s not just a simple DIY fix.  I walked away.

Coveted:
Vintage mail carrier bag

Beyond just the obvious that it’s vintage, weathered leather, I had another reason for coveting this item; I have always wanted to be a mailman.  I kid you not.  A mailman.  I have some stipulations, of course; I want to work in a warm climate with cute houses and I will only work on foot.  I would spend my days walking in sunshine, delivering beautifully wrapped packages to people.  Is this realistic?  I don’t know.  But if I have this bag, I would be one step closer.  Unfortunately, they were asking $375 and with my future postal salary, I can’t afford it.

Questioned:

Am I cray cray?  I mean I know I have a thing for all items dog related but puleeze.  I saw this gold dog from afar and went all Rachel Zoe on it.  “I die. I die. I die” was about all I said around it.

The dealer was asking $500.  I showed the photo to Graham when I got home and he laughed and said that was the most hideous thing he had ever seen.  Once out of the golden spotlight, I took a second look at the dog and thought to myself, yeah that is pretty hideous. 500 bones saved.

I did also make some purchases, yippee.  Most of which, are gifts, so they are not to be blogged about.  However, I did gift myself.

Purchased:

Leather bag

I love a vintage, worn in leather bag.  I’ve had my eyes on the non vintage style in quite a few places, like this one: Market Brown by Rennes Handmade:

However, that one will set you back $250, and my new purse was free with the purchase of another item that was a gift for someone.  It was the end of the day and the vendor was feeling giving.  Nothing like the holiday spirit!

Purchased

Speaking of holiday spirit, I added to my ornament collection:

Bam!  Ornaments galore.  We didn’t get around to decorating our tree this weekend so hopefully tonight we can.

So what do you think?  Anything you would have purchased, if you were me?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Kate Spade Inspired Desk Daily Smiles

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann Williams  |  December 6, 2011 at 11:19 AM

    Loving the antlers and ornaments and bag! Love anything dog related but that thing needs to be sitting or something, the pose is a little weird, glad you saves $500 on that one!

    Reply
  • 2. Katy  |  December 6, 2011 at 11:41 AM

    The dog? You were cray cray! Can’t you get a real one for much less than that? Though my parents always say their favorite pets are the stone dogs that have been sitting in front of the house for 25 years. That leather bag is a stunner, I’d love to join you for this adventure in the next couple months. If that “F” was a “K”, I hope you would have snatched it up for us to share!

    Reply
  • 3. Beatrice  |  December 6, 2011 at 11:49 AM

    Very nice purchases. I wish that we had an antiques fair as fine here in our valley. Oh well, I don’t need to acquire any more stuff. Graham has a point about that antler rack falling on you during an earth quake!

    Reply
  • 4. bridget  |  December 6, 2011 at 11:58 AM

    i have to defend kate on the dog. i was there. it was pretty amazing in reality. also, it was a whippet statue and a real whippet costs pretty much the same. you would never get a real whippet to stand still for you like that though! the guy selling the dog was, however, totally cray cray!

    Reply
  • 5. Ashley  |  December 6, 2011 at 12:27 PM

    Fab finds! And I’m digging the massive “F”, which would look really cool with more found letters. You could spell out something like “food” or “fun” to add a little whimsy to any room.

    You’re lucky I wasn’t on the other coast because I’d probably fight you for that leather tote!

    Reply
  • 6. Alice  |  December 6, 2011 at 1:00 PM

    Great finds, Kate! I love both the bag and ornaments. Now I’m wishing I went!

    Reply
  • 7. Dor  |  December 6, 2011 at 7:42 PM

    I truly enjoy your blog and look forward to all your great “finds”. They are always inspiring!

    Reply
  • 8. The Vintique Object  |  December 12, 2011 at 5:54 PM

    So funny about the earthquake thing. I have the same issue with an antique diamond shaped mirror I want to hang above our bed. I just can’t do it, especially with the rash of earthquakes we’ve had lately…

    And the drum — this is the issue when you are creative person. You always think you can DIY something, or have it fixed cheaply and it ends up costing more and being a huger pain that shelling out for a similar item. But I agree — that would be SUCH a cool mirror. And totally unique actually.
    Camille

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


