Happy Birthday to my Mom

November 8, 2011 at 9:35 AM 12 comments

Today is my Mom’s birthday and so I think it is of utmost importance that I dedicated a blog post to her.  After all, she does read every day no matter what.  Thanks, Mom!

Ever since Dad passed the most common question I get on the subject is, “How is your mom doing?”  I always let them know but I guess I don’t let her know.  I say, “She is an inspiration to me.  She has incredible strength that is built from a genuine feeling of gratitude for life and acceptance of what the world brings her way.”  It’s true.  I’ve been going through a personal hardship that really gets me down and I always try to remind myself of my mom. She is constantly teaching me to be thankful for what I do have and to trust in the goodness of the universe.  Amazing courage.  She is my hero.

But she is so much more than a hero; she’s my best friend.  She is a fantastic gabber and we love to go on adventures together.  Wether it’s sitting down for a quick lunch with a crossword puzzle or slipping down into quicksand in Namibia, we have an incredible time.  We giggle, we tell each other mostly everything and we push each other – as best friends should.

She is also more than a hero or a best friend, she’s my mother.  When I’m feeling extra sad about what life has dealt to me and I come home in a puddle of tears, Mom is there to wrap me up, put on the tea and listen.  She is my home base.

So to my mama who I love with all my heart, have a fantastic 66th birthday and I can’t wait to see you tonight!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Thinking Like Sarah Vacation Destination

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brittany  |  November 8, 2011 at 9:56 AM

    Great post, Kate! Love you and your amaing mom — can’t wait to celebrate her special day with you both tonight!

    Reply
  • 2. dmm  |  November 8, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    oh, Kate, your words are inspirational and as a Mother, I cannot imagine a more beautiful tribute. And may I add that my dear friends who know and treasure your Mother feel the same as you; your Mom is quite something! AND, today is MY daughter, Allison’s Birthday, too!!! She is 26 today and we are sending all our love to her across the pond to London. . . so here’s to TWO very special women who add joy to our worlds. xxxd

    Reply
  • 3. don  |  November 8, 2011 at 10:11 AM

    Great post. HBD mom

    Reply
  • 4. Katy  |  November 8, 2011 at 10:16 AM

    Happy Birthday Kathy! What a lovely and honest post, you are an inspiration! Lots of love to both Katharines today! Love Katy.

    Reply
  • 5. Blue Hydrangea  |  November 8, 2011 at 10:17 AM

    Dang Kate,
    You’re going to make me cry and it’s not even 12:00 yet! Such a sweet post, you’re very lucky to have such a great mom and she is very lucky to have you!! Y’all have fun tonight!!

    Reply
  • 6. Glynnis  |  November 8, 2011 at 11:09 AM

    Happy Birthday Kathy and very sweet post, Kate.

    Reply
  • 7. Beatrice  |  November 8, 2011 at 11:48 AM

    Thanks for the great upper today, Kate. I have read your birthday blog three times and have loved the pictures. Happy Birthday to your wonderful Mom.

    Reply
  • 8. bridget  |  November 8, 2011 at 12:32 PM

    kate, you did make me cry. you are right, your mom is amazing! happy birthday kathy, you also happen to be a great mom to all your “adopted” children and i can’t wait to celebrate with everyone tonight 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Dor  |  November 8, 2011 at 2:13 PM

    You and your Mom are so lucky to have each other. And I commend you on telling her in this way how much you love and appreciate her. It is so easy to take all you have for granted and then all of a sudden it can be too late and the things you wish you had said, cannot be heard. You are also an inspiration to others because you are wise enough to know how important it is to say what is in your heart.

    Reply
  • 10. Robin  |  November 8, 2011 at 3:45 PM

    Nice post Kate. I have started reading your blog and am really enjoying it! Happy birthday to your mom.

    Reply
  • 11. Kim@chattafabulous  |  November 8, 2011 at 9:00 PM

    Happy birthday to your mom. Aren’t we blessed to have them in our lives?

    Reply
  • 12. Ashley  |  November 9, 2011 at 12:11 PM

    Kate, this is SO lovely. Mothers are so special, and deserve to be treasured. Sounds like you treasure yours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


