Panton Chair

October 19, 2011 at 8:45 AM 4 comments

The Panton chair and I have been engaging in a love affair recently.   It’s an iconic chair in 20th century design; born from the genius mind of Vernon Panton and manufactured since 1960; it has rocked the world for decades now.  Still as relevant today as it was then; it’s a groundbreaking design (that is also very comfortable to sit in and virtually indestructible).

I’ve used the chair in two of my recent staging projects in outdoor seating arrangements; unfortunately, the photos aren’t available since both homes have sold.  I’m also suggesting the Panton chair for a client meeting I have today.  I’m working on an orthodontist office and I love the idea of them lined up in white in the waiting room to look like glistening teeth.

Let’s give a look at the Panton chair in action –

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

I find I’m drawn to the Panton chair most when it’s mixed with antiques and wood elements so that it doesn’t get too modern or sterile looking.  If you’re also in love with this chair, you can find them for a steal on overstock.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Check Marks the Spot New York Bound

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dmm  |  October 19, 2011 at 8:55 AM

    although i’m not a huge fan of the Panton chair, i love chairs and the photos youv’e included in today’s blog show it at its’ best! my very FIRST purchase (furniture wise) was in my graduate year @ SDSU; i was working 3 jobs while student teaching and i longed for a Thonet rocker; iconic. It has been w/ me longer than almost anything or anyone and i adore it still. The wood has dulled and my first dog Lacey the cocker spaniel chewed the ‘rocker leg’ but even my daughter finds the chair inntoxicating! ahhhhhh, chairs; i could do a whole book about them. thanks for inspiring me, kate.

    Reply
  • 2. Katy  |  October 19, 2011 at 9:14 AM

    The church? Come on, that’s fantastic! I loev the idea for the orthodontist’s office, so clever Kate!

    Reply
  • 3. lauren  |  October 19, 2011 at 9:39 AM

    I agree. I like it when it doesn’t look too modern. I would have never thought about them in a church but that looks great. That is a good idea for an orthodontist’s office. Wow you really are doing such a variety of different projects. Must be fun to mix it up!

    Reply
  • 4. Lucy imwalle  |  October 19, 2011 at 10:24 AM

    Love the black kitchen!! I want that in white with the rustic big family table. Can u make that happen pls!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


