To Pipe or Not To Pipe?

August 24, 2011 at 9:14 AM 8 comments

Actually, to contrast pipe or to not contrast pipe?  That is the question.

We need a sofa for our formal living room.  I have decided that it will be navy and I’m thinking it’ll be similar to this Williams Sonoma Home Presidio sofa:

http://www.wshome.com/products/p196/index.cfm?pkey=csofas%2Dloveseat%2Dsofas

I would love for it to be skirted though but I have to check with the Mr. on that one.  Speaking of Mr., we’re currently having a couch debate. I want to do a navy sofa with a white contrast piping; Graham is iffy on the color combo.  I’m a sucker for a contrast pipe and I think this would be a wonderful opportunity to take the plunge.

It always comes down to: “will I get tired of it?”  With me furniture rotates through my home constantly, in a true manifestation of my ADD self.  So yeah, I may, but I also “tire” of everything.  However, I have not tired of seeing a contrast pipe in magazines for like ever.  And navy and white is a true classic.  Thoughts?  What would you do?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Colorful Beach House A Little Pop In

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley Austin  |  August 24, 2011 at 9:21 AM

    Love love the piping! We just bought a navy couch and while i love it, even the tiniest bit of dirt sticks out like a sore thumb. That being said, I still love it, just need to be very careful. Happy couching!

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis  |  August 24, 2011 at 9:33 AM

    Don’t want to get into the debate between Mr and Mrs, but you know that I have a particular weakness for blue and white!

    Reply
  • 3. Glynnis  |  August 24, 2011 at 9:36 AM

    What if the back cushions are not piped, but the sofa is piped? Is that a compromise that will also look good?

    Reply
  • 4. Beatrice  |  August 24, 2011 at 9:41 AM

    I am sort of with Graham on this one if the sofa is for the living room. I had contrasting piping in our sunroom for years and loved it, but navy and white in the living room might limit you down the road. Pipe your accent pillows in a contrast. That’s a good looking sofa from Williams Sonoma. What about navy velvet?

    Reply
  • 5. Lucy imwalle  |  August 24, 2011 at 10:33 AM

    Pipe!! If white is too much for hubby as a contrast then consider lavender or cream or tan.

    Reply
  • 6. Sarah Mc  |  August 24, 2011 at 11:46 AM

    I love contrast piping so I would have to agree with you. I think it makes a statement and looks polished.

    Reply
  • 7. Lex  |  August 24, 2011 at 12:06 PM

    Ooh, I like lavender welting/piping idea! Although, I feel like the hubby may not.

    Husband’s can be the hardest clients sometimes. 😉

    Reply
  • 8. Ashley  |  August 24, 2011 at 3:09 PM

    I love the piping idea, but maybe on a chair instead of the couch? That way, it’s less of a commitment…?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


