Living Room: Before and After

July 26, 2011 at 8:29 AM 17 comments

Last week, I was happy to show you the living room e-design before and after project; you can check it out here.

Today, I wanted to share another room I’ve been working on.  This project was another living room; however, this time it was local.  These clients wanted to keep a lot of what they had in their living room but we’re looking to freshen up the place.  Unfortunately, I did a terrible job at taking before pictures.

Here is the before:

And the after…

Here’s a breakdown of how we made some changes to update the look.  First of all, they have this fabulous leather chair from Pottery Barn.  But, they had a matching furniture set that overpowered the room; there wasn’t enough space to put the ottoman in front of the chair and their side table gave little room to walk to the right of the chair.

I put the chair at an angle, changed out the coffee table for a slightly smaller one to accommodate the ottoman and I used a new, slimmer side table.

I found the new side table at Home Goods; I love its lines and color.

By changing out the side table and moving the ottoman forward, it freed up space by the window.

This freed space allowed for a wicker trunk by the window.

This affordable yet chic trunk I found at Target is perfect spot for storage and can be pulled into the room for extra seating when needed.

Moving on to the coffee table area.  Their existing coffee table had seen better days and I wanted to replace it with a more modern one.

I switched it out for West Elm coffee tables – the nickel base adds a fantastic modern element while the rattan trays keep the natural look that is filtered throughout the room.

To the right of the couch, my clients had another wood side table that matched the side table of the leather chair and the coffee table.

I wanted to bring some more color into the space and tie in the navy pillows they had on their couch.  For a softer look, I went for a navy garden stool and I moved their existing standing lamp they had by their leather chair over by the sofa.  The standing lamp’s shade was dated so to bring it a more fresh look, I switched out the shade for a Pottery Barn one.

On the opposite side of the sofa, sits a bookshelf/desk.  We worked on styling the bookshelf and then I found some vintage pressed leaves at a local second hand shop to bring the organic, natural look to the wall.

This project was so much fun to work on!  If you are looking to just update a room and not completely overhaul it, I would love to help!  E-mail me at katecollinsinteriors@gmail.com

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Inspired: Georgetown Digs Sign on the Dotted Line

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristen  |  July 26, 2011 at 9:02 AM

    Looks awesome! Great job, Kate!

    Reply
  • 3. Kathy Imwalle  |  July 26, 2011 at 9:11 AM

    Absolutely wonderful renovation. Great job. Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  • 5. Shannon  |  July 26, 2011 at 9:50 AM

    We LOVE IT!!!!!!! We can’t thank you enough, can’t wait for you to get started on the next room in our apt. Thank you.

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  July 26, 2011 at 10:01 AM

      Woo hoo!! So happy you love it!! That’s all that matters. I love it too. 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. consciouscloset  |  July 26, 2011 at 9:56 AM

    Fabulous! All of the little details are great. I especially love the crab : )

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  July 26, 2011 at 10:02 AM

      Thank you! Oh yes, we share a love for crabs! We’ll have to go to another flea market together again soon!

      Reply
  • 9. Lauren Stradford  |  July 26, 2011 at 10:11 AM

    Wow. The room looks so much lighter. I love that wicker trunk. Great work Kate!

    Reply
  • 11. Lauren Stradford  |  July 26, 2011 at 10:12 AM

    Wow. The room looks so much lighter. I love the wicker trunk. Great job Kate!

    Reply
  • 12. Glynnis  |  July 26, 2011 at 1:12 PM

    Great job, Kate.

    Reply
  • 13. Beatrice  |  July 26, 2011 at 3:29 PM

    What an improvement! The room is so much more inviting and not so heavy. I like all of the updated occasional tables as well and the fact that you opened up that lovely window.
    Good Work..

    Reply
  • 14. Katy  |  July 26, 2011 at 3:43 PM

    Looks fantastic, especially in person! Great job!

    Reply
  • 15. Beatrice  |  July 26, 2011 at 6:55 PM

    just looked at that LR one more time. Did you change the room color?

    Reply
    • 16. katecollinsinteriors  |  July 29, 2011 at 1:30 PM

      No, I did not. But by changing out all the dark furniture it made it feel as though it was a lighter color in there. 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. Ashley  |  July 26, 2011 at 8:12 PM

    What a great change, Kate! You’ve added a real sense of organization to the space, and it seems so much brighter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


