Alaska Prep

June 27, 2011 at 9:45 AM 7 comments

Friday, after work, Graham and I hit up our local REI to prep for our Alaska trip; we take off on Thursday for six days off fishing before a wedding in Anchorage.  I’m getting a bit nervous for the trip since these are some things we had to pack…

The scariest thing on the list is a face net to keep away the mosquitoes.  We also picked up some serious deet – the type of stuff that kills small children with one sniff.  I’m attempting to look like I’m casting in this picture but it looks more like I’m clubbing a bear…take your pick.


We also need serious eye masks because it stays light all through the night.  I actually love how it stays light and thought it was very cool the last time I was in Alaska.  What worries me, is that my husband mentioned how we can continue fishing for as LONG as we want.

We also needed special, ultra-fashionable gloves in case it’s too cold but we need our fingers free to tie flies (excuse the non-manicure hands).

We did NOT need the luggable loo – thank God.  But, I do appreciate how REI placed it next to the plastic wine cups.

We did NOT need special REI underwear and for that I am thankful.

We did NOT need ugly hippy shoes.

Apparently, I did not need a pair of red Sperry topsiders and for that I’m still not quite sure why I didn’t need them.  Graham’s reasoning was that I already have them in brown and navy….ummmm…these are red and perfect for the 4th of July!  The bears would love them.

For the first time in the history of knowing each other, Graham and I had different feelings about shopping.  My feeling…

Get me out of here!!

And Graham’s

Man in an outdoor store is just like a kid in a candy store.

Loot has been purchased and we are ready for our adventure.  For reals, I’m totally excited!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Friday Leather Round Up

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. consciouscloset  |  June 27, 2011 at 10:00 AM

    Hilarious post! Good luck with all that fishing : ) I’m sure you’ll have a blast – mosquite nets and all!

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  June 27, 2011 at 10:48 AM

      Thank you!! I’m both excited and nervous but I’m sure it will be so much fun!

      Reply
  • 3. lacey  |  June 27, 2011 at 11:04 AM

    great post kate! have fun!

    Reply
  • 4. Julia  |  June 27, 2011 at 11:30 AM

    Have fun Kate! Those are some nice looking underwear!

    Reply
  • 5. Glynnis  |  June 27, 2011 at 11:34 AM

    Have fun with all that good-looking gear. Did you buy a big cooler to keep all the fish on ice?

    Reply
  • 6. Katy  |  June 27, 2011 at 4:02 PM

    I want the top-siders! I like your reasoning, it’s the 4th of July!

    Reply
  • 7. Beatrice  |  June 27, 2011 at 6:56 PM

    What a great post! I loved all of the pictures—-can’t believe that you passed up those red topsiders. I would have found some great need for them. The eye masks I hope that you did buy. We wake up to ours every morning. Without air-conditioning it is important (with casement windows) to leave the windows absolutely free of impediments (curtains/drapery) and so on the east side (where I sleep) the sun comes in at 5:30 AM. On goes my mask and I sleep blissfully for another hour. By the way, I also used to own one of those bug masks and I did use it until I learned the hand waving movement so popular in buggy areas. Of course, if you are trying to catch a fish and the bugs are attacking waving your hand is difficult because you don’t have a free one–so go with the mask if you are going to be fishing.
    Have a great trip. We have been trying to get to Alaska for ten years now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 359 other followers


