Yellow and Brown Color Scheme

May 31, 2011 at 8:40 AM 4 comments

Happy Tuesday everyone.  I hope y’all had a great Memorial Day weekend!  Ours was such a blast!  It was so great to have a mini reunion with friends from business school days.  Coming off of a weekend where fun was a huge priority over sleep, I’m exhausted this morning.  So I have little energy for posting.

Sadly, I didn’t get a chance to finish off painting our dining room chairs this weekend but I’m getting there.  I thought I’d share with you one of my favorite formal dining rooms by local designer, Palmer Weiss. 

I’m sure it’s obvious that I love the white chairs.  But what really sends me swooning is that amazing gold mirror, the aqua tear drop lamps and that gold light fixture.  Bananas!

What do you think of the room?  Are you into the warm brown and yellow colors?  I’m not usually into the combo because those were my highschool colors – not that I didn’t love highschool…but, it does remind me of a cheer our rivals used to sing, “yellow and brown, flush it down”…too far?  Anyway, Palmer pulled the color scheme off perfectly.  Aces.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Friday Cookhouse SF

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison Messner  |  May 31, 2011 at 1:06 PM

    Kate – this made me laugh. My first thought was, “those are our high school colors.” But I must admit, you’ve paired yellow and brown beautifully. And we have a chocolate brown leather couch as one of the only pieces of furniture in our small living room. Yellow accents could be a great punch of color there.

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  June 1, 2011 at 10:03 AM

      Yes, that’s what I always think of with that combo. Too funny. But, a pop of yellow on your couch would look fantastic!

      Reply
  • 3. Blue Hydrangea  |  June 1, 2011 at 1:41 PM

    Love this dining room. I have it aved in my favorites file and those blue lamps just make the room!!

    Reply
  • 4. Tim  |  December 28, 2012 at 2:48 PM

    I really do enjoy the brighter colors. I also love the dinning room.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


