Elizabeth St.

May 24, 2011 at 9:26 AM 4 comments

While searching around ETSY for little pieces to put on a client’s bookshelf, I came across the cutest shop:  Elizabeth St.  She makes the most adorable pinwheels and paper balls using old maps.

I would love to put these as a mobile for a nursery, if we were going for the “well traveled look.”  I’ve been wanting to do a nursery like this where you collect fabulous items from around the world – such as bright striped rugs from Peru and Ottomi fabric from Mexico for some of the bedding, a JuJu hat from South Africa – you get where I’m going with this.  And then these map balls of far off lands to tie in the look. Hopefully, one day I’ll find a client who is on board with the idea.  Here’s a room that has a similar feel to what I’m thinking…

Designed by Erin of Design Crisis.

Elizabeth St. also makes the cutest map pinwheels.  I would love to use them at a party and then gather them all in a mason jar and use them as a permanent bouquet as shown below…

How sweet!  See more at Elizabeth St., here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Carnival by Christopher Farr Feeling Sheepish?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diana Finster  |  May 24, 2011 at 9:37 AM

    LOVE this idea Kate!!! You are so creative and wonderful. Working on our nursery now and love these ideas!!!

    Reply
  • 2. consciouscloset  |  May 24, 2011 at 10:12 AM

    Great find, Kate! I love the map pinwheels and the idea of them as a permanent bouquet.

    Reply
  • 3. Ann Williams  |  May 24, 2011 at 1:56 PM

    So cute! I love maps used in new ways. The grown up nursery is gorgeous. My favorite is the stuffed giraffe head mounted on the wall!

    Reply
  • 4. Amy  |  May 27, 2011 at 8:15 AM

    Love these!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


