Weekend Recap

May 9, 2011 at 9:05 AM 16 comments

As I mentioned last week, this past Saturday was the Kentucky Derby and my dear cousin had a Derby themed engagement party. As I promised, I took pictures. Where to begin…the fashion, the party decor, the interior design, the food? When it was all so top notch, it’s hard to pick a favorite. But, since it was Derby attire, we must start with fashion.

Fashion:

The best dressed and most impressive hats has got to go to the bride to be and her mom.  The first one pictured below is the gorgeous bride to be in the most amazing hat, the second is her fiance all dressed up also in a hat (in the white pants), the third is her mom and dad – another fabulous set of hats.  Then keep on scrolling to see what some of us guests came to the party in.  After all of my agony of hat and outfit decisions, I decided to wear a green and white striped skirt, black top and the large black hat (seventh photo down).

Party Decor:

The party decor was fabulous.  It was hard to really capture the entire look.  My mom sewed the seer sucker toppers and put the flower arrangements together, which were put in mint julep cups.  There also were high top tables with faux bamboo bar seats – my absolute favorite.  There was also a photo station complete with a wooden horse that a friend of theirs made for them – it was such a fantastic idea!  The food was delicious and true to the Derby theme with strawberries and shrimp n grits.


Interior Decor:

My Aunt has her degree in Interior Design and she has impeccable taste.  I didn’t take many shots of their fabulous home but I did have to show their powder room which has always been a favorite of me; it is timeless and elegant.  I also took a tiny round up of the faux bamboo chairs in their home to show I’m not the only one in the family with the obsession…

It was such a fun party!!  We all had a blast and I loved that everyone participated in the Derby theme.  What a great day.  What did you do this weekend?  I’d love to know!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Walk 4 Pancreatic Cancer What’s a Girl to Do?

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julia  |  May 9, 2011 at 9:15 AM

    Looks like such a fun party!! Wish we could have been there!

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 9, 2011 at 9:21 AM

      We missed you guys! We all discussed how we hoped the entire Lynn clan will make it out to Brie’s wedding!!

      Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  May 9, 2011 at 9:20 AM

    WOW! That all looks amazing! It’s so fun that everyone got in theme for the party!

    Reply
  • 5. Glynnis  |  May 9, 2011 at 11:12 AM

    Love the hats! Those Reiters know how to throw a party…

    Reply
  • 7. Beatrice  |  May 9, 2011 at 11:17 AM

    I really hated missing that party. Thanks for all of the pictures. Those were amazing hats and they truly would keep the sun out of your eyes.

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 9, 2011 at 10:50 PM

      We really missed you!! Looking forward to your visit in October for the big wedding!!

      Reply
  • 9. debby manning  |  May 9, 2011 at 12:41 PM

    what a party/wedding/reception; all your relatives look beautiful; could be a ralph lauren photo shoot!! my fav hats are the bride, the champagne w/ white polka dots(dress & hat) and yours; the black was an inspired choice. the home and grounds are stunning; while we lived in indiana for 4 years we attended the derby twice and i’m so glad i had that experience, the hats alone are worth the trip!! graham and the guys looked very preppy and louisville, wowza.

    Reply
    • 10. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 9, 2011 at 10:52 PM

      I always love your comments – they make my day!! The grounds of their place are very beautiful. And the hats/outfits were fantastic; I especially loved seeing the men so preppy. 2 trips to the Kentucky Derby, now that’s a dream come true! 🙂 I wanted to go when we were in Chicago but we never made it out.

      Reply
  • 11. Regan  |  May 9, 2011 at 8:08 PM

    LOVE your skirt Kate! Perfect choice for the occasion.

    Reply
  • 13. Christina  |  May 9, 2011 at 11:58 PM

    Are you even kidding with this event. Everyone look so dapper and derby chic…including yourself. Can I be adopted into your little circle of friends;-)

    Reply
  • 14. karin  |  May 10, 2011 at 12:49 AM

    LOVE the skirt! so fresh looking!

    Reply
  • 15. Francy  |  August 19, 2013 at 2:51 AM

    15th photo down – is there any chance at all you’d know where that dress was made or where is it from??

    I love your blog!!! Keep it up! 🙂 xx

    Reply
    • 16. katecollinsinteriors  |  August 20, 2013 at 10:11 AM

      I’m so sorry, I don’t know. And I’m not sure who was wearing it to find out for you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


