After a long wait…

May 4, 2011 at 8:41 AM 6 comments

It all began in a gorgeous seaside town: Plettenberg Bay, South Africa, October 2009.  My mom and I were brought to an impressive gallery by my in-laws.  So far on the trip, I had already purchased a JuJu Hat, a wooden shark figure and clothes, I thought my shopping was over.  Then I experienced love at first sight…

The painting by Sam Nhlengethurst spoke to me.  I loved the vibrant color blocking and the geometric print on his shirt.  It was also reminiscent to me of Jacob Lawrence, a favorite artist of mine.

We all walked away impressed with the print and then mom suggested it as a Christmas present.  Graham had not seen it as he was slaving away at business school while we vacationed but we all agreed he would love it.  So Christmas present 2009 it was to be.  After much debate, we decided to have it shipped with the frame and without the glass. I wasn’t in love with the frame but I knew framing would be about $1,000 so I decided to live with the one it came with.  Well, here’s how it arrived…

I was crushed, as was the painting.  After countless e-mails with the gallery, we got our money back and they were covered by insurance so it all worked out.  A couple blocks away from our apartment in Chicago was a Japanese print gallery and I asked if they could restore the print.  They thought they could give it a try.  One month later and the print was back to new.  I was in awe of their work.  With a few more months remaining in Chicago before our big move, we decided to ship it unframed to California where it arrived perfectly safe.  The package then sat in our closet for six months.  Why the wait?  Well, I knew we would spend our non-existent child’s college fund on the framing.  But eventually, we couldn’t resist anymore and so to the frame store it went.

Two months later and it arrived home safe and sound and more beautiful than ever….

Merry Christmas 2009 to Graham and I.  Thanks mom for the gorgeous gift – we love it!!  And it’ll forever remind us our fun trip to Africa.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Family Room Makeover: Before and Almost After Statement Piece

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katy  |  May 4, 2011 at 8:56 AM

    The beautiful print doesn’t belong in the closet! It’s awesome. Your art/artists posts have inspired me and I’m now looking for interesting pieces to buy, maybe we could collaborate!

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 4, 2011 at 9:54 AM

      You’re right!! So happy to have it out of the closet. So happy it’s inspired you – I’d be happy to collaborate!!

      Reply
  • 3. Brian  |  May 4, 2011 at 12:32 PM

    Brings back wonderful memories of the trip and the agony you went through trying to decide whether to buy the painting or not. Great decision

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis  |  May 4, 2011 at 3:51 PM

    It was worth the wait Kate. It looks fantastic and such a story. We all did well that day, didn’t we!

    Reply
  • 5. Mom  |  May 4, 2011 at 8:55 PM

    I LOVE the print. so full of color and pattern.

    Reply
  • 6. Allison Carlson  |  May 6, 2011 at 10:43 AM

    Wow!! Love this print!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


