Family Room Makeover: Before and Almost After

May 3, 2011 at 9:32 AM 19 comments

I had the pleasure of working with wonderful clients on a family room makeover.  First of all they came to me saying that they wanted the room to feel nautical, as though they were looking out onto the Atlantic without being overly beachy.  Umm, nautical – music to my ears!!  I was beyond thrilled and honored to be asked to work on this project.

Here is what they had before…

This room is used all the time.  It gets amazing sunlight, it’s comfy and it holds the ever important computer.  The room needed to provide comfortable seating, a desk and a TV but everything else could go.  While they did have a great built in desk already in the room, the clients didn’t use it.  They realized that you would be cut off from conversation when sitting at the built in.  They also said that they did not want the desk facing a wall, as my very social client said, “it would just feel like a prison sentence looking up at a wall.”  Did I mention my clients are the best and social bees?  My favorite kind of client!!  Okay, enough words – what y’all have been waiting for – the after.

For the details…

The most major changes were that my clients put in a fireplace, which is now the focal point of the room.  We also ripped out the brown carpets and put down beautiful flooring along with my all time favorite nautical striped dhurri rug.

Focal wall before was a gallery wall…

But it added to a cluttered feeling in the room.  So in went the fireplace –

Another big change was repositioning the couch to open up the room and a new custom sofa in a fabric I absolutely love.

We had a spool chair custom done to add to the nautical feeling and then we had the pink wing-back chair recovered to navy with white piping.

The window treatments no longer fit with the new look and they were cutting off some of the beautiful sunlight.  We switched them out for beautiful roman drapes with a textured tone on tone color scheme to them.  We raised the drapes up to slightly above the window making them appear larger and letting in more light.

Window treatments before:

And after:

The desk is in a social spot with a swivel chair.

And for one little detail item I found them was an antique bus sign from London with their last name on it.  The clients last name is a town in England and I found them a legitimate bus sign that was actually on the busses in the 1950s.  I can’t promise a find like that for every client, but I was glad it worked for them!

There still is some work to be done, such as accessorizing the back built-in and the office storage unit and having the cushions on the spool chair re-done, and more art work to go up.  But, I just couldn’t resist sharing an almost finished product.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Weekend Recap After a long wait…

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clare  |  May 3, 2011 at 9:40 AM

    Um I know this house well… But almost didn’t recognize it!

    Beautiful work Kate!!

    Reply
  • 2. jaclyn  |  May 3, 2011 at 9:42 AM

    wow! Ah-maze-zing! I cannot wait for you to do my home 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Jill  |  May 3, 2011 at 9:43 AM

    I am so in love with this room! What an inspiration. Kate, you did a beautiful job and I’m sure it helps to have such an amazing client. I think someone needs to have a “room revealing” party… 😉

    Reply
  • 4. consciouscloset  |  May 3, 2011 at 9:52 AM

    Great job, Kate! I love all of the patterns and the subway tile on the fireplace mantle is perfect!

    Reply
  • 5. debby manning  |  May 3, 2011 at 9:59 AM

    oh. my. goodness. what a transformation! while i love every aspect of the new and improved design, my favorite is the london school bus sign. . . brilliant!!! the whole space is stransformed w/ more light and fabric and truly brings the family’s fabulous life into the room. i know and love these ‘clients’ and canNOT wait to have tea in their brand new family room; maybe i’ll get to meet the designer, too! bravo kate, massive congrats on a spectacular job.
    V best,
    debby

    Reply
  • 6. Katy  |  May 3, 2011 at 10:12 AM

    The pictures of the old room almost make me cringe! We spent so much time in that cluttered space. It’s so lovely now, what a great change! Summer parties in the sun await us!

    Reply
  • 7. Alice  |  May 3, 2011 at 10:34 AM

    What a great transformation! I love it all. Nice work!

    Reply
  • 8. Anna  |  May 3, 2011 at 10:43 AM

    Great Job Kate! what a wonderful makeover. It really transformed the space.

    Reply
  • 9. Glynnis  |  May 3, 2011 at 10:52 AM

    Wow! What a fantastic transformation. I love it.

    Reply
  • 10. bridget  |  May 3, 2011 at 11:54 AM

    it looks fantastic, you know i share your love of the nautical. i especially love the fireplace tile, the paint job and the spool chair. and the sign with their name is a really special find – well done!

    Reply
  • 11. Kendra  |  May 3, 2011 at 12:12 PM

    The room is fantastic! What a transformation…and an inspiration! Love it!

    Reply
  • 12. Elizabeth Goodwin  |  May 3, 2011 at 3:17 PM

    Great work, awesome use of space! I love the added fireplace and the fabric on the sofa!

    Reply
  • 13. Lauren  |  May 3, 2011 at 4:06 PM

    I love everything about it. That couch fabric is so fun.

    Reply
  • 14. Joe Imwalle  |  May 3, 2011 at 5:13 PM

    I’m impressed. Great job.

    Reply
  • 15. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 4, 2011 at 9:53 AM

    Thank you!! So happy everyone likes it, especially the clients. Thank you for all of your kind support!

    Reply
  • 16. Chrissy  |  May 4, 2011 at 10:19 AM

    Love this room! Well done Kate! Just reaffirming my decision to use you for my bathrooms!

    Reply
  • 17. Beatrice  |  May 4, 2011 at 11:52 AM

    WOW, what an improvement. The fabrics and room color are wonderful.
    Great job!

    Reply
  • 18. Brittany  |  May 4, 2011 at 10:27 PM

    Amazing job! i love this!!

    Reply
  • 19. zoe feast  |  June 7, 2011 at 9:00 AM

    Wow, this is a room I would actually want to spend time in now, you did a great job of removing the clutter and I just love the blue and white.
    I have just done a makeover on my family room check it out, I’d love to hear what you think.
    family room makeover

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


