Cape Dutch in California Wine Country

April 26, 2011 at 9:00 AM 4 comments

Today’s post is for my In-Laws who are South African.  I think that one of the most beautiful styles of homes is the Cape Dutch style, which is a popular style in South Africa’s wine country.   Stellenbosch  is one of my favorite places to visit and Graham and I have often wondered what it would be like to build a Cape Dutch style home in California.  Designer Patrick Printy did just that when he renovated his Sonoma County home.  The final look came out stunning and I really love how he mixed California style decor with a few homages to South Africa through out.  If he had designed the place with an African theme throughout the home, I think it would have felt forced and out of place.  This, to me, feels like the perfect mix between the two places, like a nice Cab/Merlot blend.

All images via Elle Decor.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Going Green Funk Lifted

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. debby manning  |  April 26, 2011 at 9:04 AM

    o.m.g. i have fallen in love w/ the cape dutch style and that home in particular; love the knoll chairs in the living room. . . so calm and sophisticated, i could move right in.
    dmm

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 26, 2011 at 12:41 PM

    This is absolutely stunning. Certainly a wonderful mix. I did love the Cape Dutch when in So. Africa.
    Love, Mom

    Reply
  • 3. Glynnis  |  April 26, 2011 at 4:35 PM

    Kate, thank you. Cape Dutch is my most favourite style of architecture and this place sings to me (as you knew it would). I hope you and Graham own it one day!

    Reply
  • 4. bridget  |  April 26, 2011 at 8:02 PM

    wow, i love this house! just my style. when you do own this house, i will be the permanent house-guest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


