Artist of the Week: Nathan Oliveira

April 14, 2011 at 5:37 AM 1 comment

Nathan Oliveira was a painter, printmaker and sculptor.  In addition to his work as an artist, he was an art professor at Stanford.  He was a local man, born and raised in Oakland, Ca.  His work has shown in close to 100 solo exhibits and he has been in hundreds of group exhibits in many major museums and galleries worldwide, including several Whitney Museum of American Art exhibits.  The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art owns about 30 of his pieces.  I believe that you can see his work permanently displayed on the Stanford campus.

Oliveira passed away last year at 81 from complications of pulmonary fibrosis and diabetes.  Though he retired in 1995, he continued to work as an artist.  Even in the months up to his death, when he needed an oxygen tank for support, he still was working on 30 different paintings.  What an impressive passion for art and life.

His work is breathtaking.

My parents own a few of his pieces.  One of which I have blogged about in the past, the one that I was so embarrassed of as a little girl because it was of a naked lady.  Oh, silly me.

It is stunning.  At the time when my parents bought this painting, my oldest brother was turning 16 and he desperately wanted a new Land Cruiser.  They decided to buy the painting and wait a few months and get my brother a used Land Cruiser instead.  Now that I’m older, I so get it.  Since apparently this blog will stay around forever – dear oldest 16 year old, yes, we are getting a painting and you are getting a used car; dear youngest child, your car will be the oldest of all.  By the time I was 16, in 1996, my parents put me in a 1983 suburban that broke down often (before the time of cell phones).  Once my older brother went off to college, I got the 1987 Land Cruiser, it was as if I had been given the keys to a Porsche.  But I digress…

If you are in the bay area, I encourage you to check out his work at the San Francisco Modern Museum of Art permanent collection.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Seaside Cottage Renovation Inspiration Happy Friday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Eduardo Alvarado  |  October 24, 2011 at 9:17 AM

    Thank you so much for interesting words about one of the greatest creators of nowdays and for the picture of unkown work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


