Dining Room Choices

March 28, 2011 at 5:36 AM 15 comments

Last week, I missed out on these two blush velvet wing back chairs in perfect condition on Craigslist going for $50. I was late to the find as I only came across the post about three days after it was posted. The beauties were gone and I was left missing them. I wanted the wingback chairs so badly as end chairs for my dining room table. My latest inspiration is the dining room of the Kemps seen in the latest Elle Decor issue…

After watching a few back episodes of Secrets of a Stylist on HGTV, I felt compelled to try my own little mix it up dining room style from only items I already owned. Roll cameras, welcome to Secrets of a Non-Stylist, I’m your host, Kate Collins…

First things first, I tried just replacing the end chairs I had now with a pouf and garden stool that I already owned…

I liked that it was finally adding more character to my dining room, however, I felt I could do better. I felt that the side seats heights were off and it made the room feel off kilter. A little balancing out…

ļ»æļ»æ

I put the new John Robshaw pouf and an awesome wedding gift from my brother Miles and Brittany – a Gumps garden stool – as the new side seating.

I liked this look a lot more than the first option because it had a better sense of symmetry.

Now on to option three…

I moved the settee that I have sitting in the bay window of the dining room and I place the table bench seat where the settee was…

I really like how the blueish green in the settee speaks with the blueish green in the lamps. Man, I sound so articulate when I use words like “blueish green”

But alas, the heights of the backs of the side chairs were off and the look wasn’t quite right. You’d think I’d have learned the first time. So a little tweaking….

And from the other side…

In other news around the dining room – the large mirror you see on the right hand side wall is supposed to be hung. However, it weighs approximately 1 ton and we’re a little scared of a gigantic hole and a pissy landlord. The art piece was a gift from my dad and is incredibly special to me, however, that may move to the bedroom and we have a new piece that is at the frame shop. Lastly, Graham’s surfboard is still sitting pretty in the dining room…

Which arrangement do you like?

Option A:

Option B:

Option C:

Any other option you can think of? Hounding the person who sold the velvet wing backs to give me the info of the buyer and then begging the buyer for me to have them in exchange for their $50 back, isn’t an option.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Friday To Dad, With Love

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  March 28, 2011 at 7:00 AM

    I say B, but I’m totally type A and all about symmetry.

    Reply
  • 2. Don  |  March 28, 2011 at 8:44 AM

    B. More backs = people stay seated at the table longer = more fun for the meals you cook.

    Reply
    • 3. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 29, 2011 at 9:11 AM

      Agreed! I would do everything with backs if I could but I wanted to see what I could come up with without spending any money. One day, I’m sure we’ll have proper end chairs.

      Reply
  • 4. noelle  |  March 28, 2011 at 9:47 AM

    B.

    Reply
  • 5. consciouscloset  |  March 28, 2011 at 10:16 AM

    What about the brown chairs at the heads of the table, the settee on one side and the bench on the other? I love the poufs but they don’t seem that comfortable. They might look cute by the window also!

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 29, 2011 at 9:12 AM

      That’s exactly how I had the arrangement when we had you guys over for dinner. I do like that set up but I wanted to try out something a little different. I think that set up is great for dinner parties though!

      Reply
  • 7. bridget  |  March 28, 2011 at 10:43 AM

    option b for sure.

    Reply
  • 8. emily  |  March 28, 2011 at 11:03 AM

    loving option A.

    Reply
  • 9. Erin  |  March 28, 2011 at 11:11 AM

    Option B. I love the look of your settee at the dining table.

    Reply
  • 10. Glynnis  |  March 28, 2011 at 11:14 AM

    I’m not in favour of the pouf or garden stool (nice as they are) for a lengthy dinner. May I please have a chair or the settee?

    Reply
  • 11. Christine  |  March 28, 2011 at 6:31 PM

    i think i heart option a! šŸ™‚ i just couldn’t be fussed pulling out the green settee each time i had to sit (i’m lazy). šŸ™‚ ps love ALL your furniture šŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 12. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 29, 2011 at 9:14 AM

      Ha ha – so true about pulling it out! Graham and I sat in it last night and instead of pulling the settee out he just slid the entire table halfway across the room. šŸ™‚ Thank you about my furniture!!

      Reply
  • 13. Katie  |  March 28, 2011 at 8:04 PM

    I might have to change my mind and go with consciouscloset. I like the idea of the bench and the settee and the chairs at each end. Can we see that option?

    Reply
    • 14. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 29, 2011 at 9:14 AM

      That is actually how I had it before I started fussing around with changing things up. I’ll add it onto this post as option C.

      Reply
  • 15. Melissa  |  March 28, 2011 at 10:43 PM

    B! B! B! B!

    My vote’s for B!
    xo
    Melissa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


