Artist of the Week: Dallas Shaw

March 17, 2011 at 5:30 AM 6 comments

It’s that time of the week again, artist time.  I do wonder how this little series of mine is going down with my readers.  I have to say that I like it and it’s fun for me to do.  I’m always inspired by artists and if I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a million times, art can make your home.  One day, I will take you on a virtual tour of my parents home and you will see how I was literally raised on that notion.

Anyway, I was tickled pink that Ms. Dallas Shaw commented on my blog two days ago.  Wow!  Humbled to say the least.  She is a fabulous artist and it doesn’t hurt that she’s a fashionista.  This girl knows clothes.  She drapes herself in the likes of Lanvin, Karen Walker, Donna Karen, Peter Som and Phillip Lim.  Tres chic.

You can see that fashion plays a major role in her art.  She has collaborated with major designers and clothing brands, such as DKNY, Dace and American Eagle, creating fashion sketches and even vintage wallpaper store displays.

She works in amazingly varied mediums from acrylics on canvas to her own t-shirt line.  I love how her illustrations translate the art of fashion and leave you breathless, craving a life well strut in head to toe avant garde clothing.

If Dallas’ work has you swooning, check out her site here; she also has an ETSY site but appears to be all sold out at the moment.


Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

That’s Amore For Japan With Love…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. debby manning  |  March 17, 2011 at 5:53 AM

    kate, your addition of art/artists into your blog is brilliant; and yes we all would love to see a virtual tour of your parent’s home! this particular artist’s name is practially ‘art’ in itself. . . when i was in college there was a girl named shaw and i have loved the name ever since; it IS on my top ten favorite names list. ms. shaw’s work is quite something; i will pass it along to my daughters to savor. keep the artistas coming!
    dmm

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 17, 2011 at 1:06 PM

      That is so great to hear! Virtual tour coming soon. You are so right about the name – it is practically art. What a fantastic name choice!! I have a feeling your daughter will love this artist, since it seems like she is very into fashion.

      Reply
  • 3. consciouscloset  |  March 17, 2011 at 10:12 AM

    Kate – I love the Artist’s Series! Thank you for introducing us to the work of these talented artists! Keep up the good work : )

    Reply
  • 5. missioncloset  |  March 17, 2011 at 11:47 AM

    I LOVE your artist of the week posts! These are just gorgeous.

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 17, 2011 at 1:07 PM

      Thank you! Such awesome feedback – I’m so glad you love it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


