Thrift Store Score

March 7, 2011 at 5:29 AM 11 comments

Last week, I was reading an interview of Kelly from High Street Market on Matchbook Mag and she was talking about the thrill of the hunt and how you never know what you’ll find when walking into an estate sale or flea market.  The article inspired me to check out my local thrift shops.

While there, I came upon about three yards of Brunswig and Fils Les Touches fabric for $12.50.  I held my breath the entire time I bought the fabric and I felt as though I was doing something mischievous because it was such a steal of a deal.  It retails for about 90% more than what I paid for it.

Les Touches is a very hot designer fabric – you may have spotted it in some of your favorite decor magazines.

Tommy Smythe used Les Touches on a pair of wing chairs and he can do no wrong in my eyes.

The red Les Touches ottoman adds a great touch of whimsy to the room – designed by Megg Braff via Renovation Style

Now where to put the beauty…

As the seat cushions of my faux bamboo chairs?

Pillows for my sofa?

Or as a custom headboard?  Pressure is on!  I could have done a much better job ‘styling’ the fabric for all of you to give you a better idea of what it would look like but I was just so excited to get this post out there.  What do you think?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Friday! Writing Desk Round Up

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. debby manning  |  March 7, 2011 at 6:17 AM

    kate, LOVE the les touches fabric, OMG oh my goodness it is a rare find indeed, and the $ is waaay too amazing; think i may faint w/ the thrill of it all. instead of square pillows, maybe one longer, rectangle shape centered on your sofa, and then cover the faux bamboo chair seats also? stretching that fabric throughout your room would be wonderful. . . and i would back the pillow w/ a different fab. a matching red velvet, perhaps? i like to use contrasting fabrics on my pillow fronts & backs. . . (!) xx dmm

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 7, 2011 at 11:47 AM

      I love your enthusiasm with this fabric, Debby!! Thank you!! Your comment made my day. Great thought to you it in both places – I’m hoping that I have enough to pull that off.

      Reply
  • 3. Ann Williams  |  March 7, 2011 at 10:15 AM

    Love the idea of seat cushions for the bamboo chairs! Great fabric!

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 7, 2011 at 11:48 AM

      Thank you!! I’m going to try to find the best fabric for the piping and then I’m off to get it upholstered.

      Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  March 7, 2011 at 11:29 AM

    How fun is that fabric? I like Debby’s idea of stretching it and using it in two places. I imagine you going cautiously through the checkout process and getting outside and doing a little dance when you were out of view of the cash register!

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 7, 2011 at 11:49 AM

      Yes!! That was exactly what happened…it was one of those, “are you sure this price is correct?” moments.

      Reply
  • 7. Beatrice  |  March 7, 2011 at 1:21 PM

    I vote for using the fabric in two places. I’m positive that you could stretch it if you backed the pillows in a different fabric. Great find!

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 7, 2011 at 1:35 PM

      I’m glad that has your vote! I wish you were here to help me with the sewing. 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Pretty Pink Tulips  |  March 8, 2011 at 5:10 PM

    I love, love, love that fabric!!! And, I haven’t seen it in RED! I have to admit, I love it for a tablecloth, but it would be equally fun as a chair cushion. A little pop of unexpected color and fun!!!

    xoxo

    Reply
  • 10. julie  |  March 8, 2011 at 6:55 PM

    OK …. what??? So lucky!!

    Reply
  • 11. Natalie  |  March 9, 2011 at 9:04 AM

    What an awesome find!!!!! Such a great fabric!! I’m still waiting to have my big thrift store find that I swear everyone gets but me!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


