Featured Artist: Julia Lynn

March 3, 2011 at 9:11 AM 9 comments

Often times, I ask myself, why my cousin Julia Lynn lives on the other side of the country.  If only she lived close to me; she has a keen artist eye, she is stylish to boot, a raucous good time and she can help me perfect my faux Southern accent.  Since she works with and is close friends with one of my favorite designers, Angie Hranowsky, I’ll talk to the hubby about us moving to Charleston to be close to her.

Julia’s photography needs no introduction, but indulge me for a second here.  She has an incredible gift to capture the mood and the moment in her photos, whether it is an abandoned home and the history left behind or a vibrant person and the life story in her eyes.  She can also work with light in a way that magnifies the beauty of a special place, whether it be a murky swamp or a colorful family home.  I’m honored to share her photography with you today.

I was lucky enough to score an interview…

When did you first realize you had a passion for photography?

In college, when travelling and living in Italy.

What is your favorite subject to shoot – people, interiors, nature?

I started out shooting mostly people and I love photographing them. However, I started photographing interiors at the urge of my very good friend and interior designer, Angie Hranowsky.  Since then, we’ve shot tons of interiors together, and now they are some of my favorite things to shoot.

Has there been a favorite person that you took a picture of for your portrait series, why?

I have several people who rank high in my “favorites” category, more because of the experience of the shoot, than the end result.  Although, I do believe when you have a good experience photographing someone, it often shows in the work.  My current favorite is Addie Wright, she is a real gem and lives in the small rural community of Edisto Island, about an hour outside of Charleston:

I photographed Addie while working on the Palmetto Portraits Project.

(More information about the project can be viewed here: http://palmettoportraits.musc.edu/)

What part of the photography process do you enjoy the most?

I actually quite enjoy “the hunt”  – finding the locations, the people, concepting….  I also love when I come across something fantastic I didn’t know about before and there also happens to be great light at the same time!  This old piano is a perfect example of that.  I was in Bath County, where my parents have a cabin, out looking for “old things and places” to photograph with my dad.  We stumbled upon this awesome piano in an abandoned mess hall of an old summer camp.  The light was perfect too and I just knew I had a shot I would love (it was shot with film too, so unlike digital I didn’t get to “see” the photograph right away).

For those who are just starting out in photography, do you have any basic tips?

Study light and how it falls on everything; objects, people, buildings, the land. Also, study the light at different times of day and see how it can transform an object or place by the way the light falls.  And – save a lot of money!

Do you have a personal favorite piece?

That’s tough, it changes.  Often pieces have sentimental value to me because of when or where I took the photograph, or who I was with.  However, those aren’t necessarily the best ones, but since they hold a place in my heart, they might be my favorite…

Can you please send us pictures of your home?  When your mom talks about your home, I’m always convinced I’ll want to move right in.


Yep, it’s official.  Graham and I are moving to Charleston and we’ll be living in your house!  It is gorgeous!  Some of Julia’s favorite finds are her coffee table (vintage Paul McCobb) and Saarinen tables, both of which she found on e-bay and her dining table and chairs, which she found in Atlanta at 20th Century Antiques on Highland Avenue.  It does help to be close with Angie Hranowsky, who helped her pick out the awesome zebra wallpaper (Rose Cummings), the fabric on the dining room chairs, the Damien Hicks Fiorentina pillows on her sofa and the crib is from Angie.  One of my favorite elements is the print of the Virginia Peony above her sofa, which she sells online here.

Not only is she crazy talented, she’s also a wife, mother of two and gorgeous.

Thank you, Julia for the interview!!  As a gift to all of my readers, she is offering a 15% discount on her prints!  E-mail her at julia@julialynn.com for more information and mention Kate Collins.

Go check out Julia’s extensive portfolio, here.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Birthday, Dad! Happy Friday!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  March 3, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    Thanks for the “tour” of Julia’s photos and of her home. What a talented young woman. I know that she feels lucky to have you as her cousin. That blog made my day.

    Reply
  • 2. Mom  |  March 3, 2011 at 10:21 AM

    Julia’s photos are more outstanding than any website can reproduce. I highly recommend them.

    Reply
  • 3. Ann Williams  |  March 3, 2011 at 10:52 AM

    WOW! Love this post, love her prints, LOVE that wallpaper and the room with the peony print. Great post, I’ll be emailing Julia to order for sure. Her purpley/blue hydrangea print is calling my name to hang in our living room 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis  |  March 3, 2011 at 12:16 PM

    I love her work.

    Reply
  • 5. Terry Gallagher Giannetto  |  March 3, 2011 at 2:06 PM

    Hi Kate, Loved to see all about Julia, She is a marvelous photographer!!! Thanks for sharing. Can you put me on your email list to receive your blog. Kit has sent me several of your terrific blogs and I have enjjoyed them all. Can you also send me Julia’s website? Thinking of your Dad and your family at your Dad’s birthday. I am this day reading the book you all put together for him. Love to you!! Terry Gallagher Giannetto

    Reply
  • 6. Julia Lynn  |  March 3, 2011 at 3:53 PM

    Kate, thank you for the wonderful post! Reading your blog everyday makes me feel like we actually aren’t all the way across the country from one another. Thank you!!

    Reply
  • 7. bobby lynn  |  March 3, 2011 at 4:23 PM

    kate,julia, what an interesting article. you two have the chemistry to start a business. maybe the time is now.bobby

    Reply
  • 8. Elizabeth Goodwin  |  March 3, 2011 at 9:13 PM

    Kate,
    Julia Lynn is so talented and yep I can’t wait to move to Charleston myself. Loved the interview!

    Reply
  • 9. Angie  |  March 4, 2011 at 10:59 PM

    Great post Kate, I love your blog!. We are both big fans of Julia. She is one of my closest friends and one of my favorite people and so talented!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


