Major Improvement

March 1, 2011 at 5:29 AM 7 comments

It all started with a little comment, “Mom, I think you should get a new chandelier for the front hallway.”  My mom had an old chandelier that was put up when my grandparents lived in the home about 50 years ago.  It was old but not in a good way.  I so wish I had taken a picture of the before but my mom had replaced it before I had a chance to come down with my camera.

After my lovely comment, I sent my mom a few suggestions of chandeliers as I found them.  However, when we were in Santa Cruz, we found the gem at this wonderful shop, Wisteria Antiques and Design.  Now enough of me, let’s let the pictures do the talking.

As a quick side note, I took a shot of this nude art piece because it is a beautiful and I love it.  However, when I was young, I was mortified that as soon as you walked into our front door, you could see a naked lady.  And not just any naked lady; it’s my mom!  Or so that’s what my dad told me.  Great, what other 4th grader has a huge nude portrait of their mom hanging in the entryway?  However, my dad was known to embellish the truth, especially if it resulted in embarrassing offspring.  I should have known better, that is in NO WAY my mom posing nude.  Ha ha.

Mom or siblings, can you please comment with who the artist is?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I want… Happy Birthday, Dad!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  March 1, 2011 at 9:27 AM

    I just LOVE that chandelier. It is so perfect in that great big hallway. I think that the nude model was Primitiva.

    Reply
  • 2. Brenda Reiter  |  March 1, 2011 at 6:28 PM

    I love it, and it looks perfect in the hall, like it has always been there.Good job

    Reply
  • 3. Glynnis  |  March 1, 2011 at 6:59 PM

    The chandelier looks fantastic. I love it. And the nude is pretty cool too, Mom or not!

    Reply
  • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  March 1, 2011 at 8:35 PM

    The painting is Nathan Olivera. He is a wonderful artist. It is a mono print.
    The chandelier looks absolutely fabulous as does the one in the hot house. they are both perfect.
    Love, Mom

    Reply
  • 5. julie  |  March 2, 2011 at 1:38 PM

    How gorgeous! I adore the painting. Funny how we appreciate things in our parents’ homes now that we didn’t before.

    Reply
  • 6. Seagrass Interiors  |  March 2, 2011 at 3:29 PM

    Oh my gosh I feel your pain!! My great-grandfather was an artist and particularly loved to draw nude models. Especially when the nude model was none other than my great-grandmother!! Uggghhhh I used to be MORTIFIED when friend would come over!! I’d always lie and say I had no idea who it was! Now, I’m actually proud – it just shows I come from people with personality. : )
    Love the chandelier!
    Melissa

    Reply
  • 7. Gene  |  March 2, 2011 at 5:54 PM

    I am sure I insulted your father when I told him the painting looked like the English Patient’s girl friend. Made me happy to see him flustered, I didn’t “get him” that often.

    Those are beautifuylly expressed memoried of your Dad. I think of him often and talk with him everytime I’m walking the Upper Sac’s railroad tracks after a day of fishing.
    Love,
    Your G Father

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


