Be Bold, Go Gold?

February 24, 2011 at 5:30 AM 11 comments

While slowly perusing my local favorite second hand shop, I came upon a fabulous, complete set of 12 piece gold flatware.  I took a step forward to peer into the case they lay in as though peering into a looking-glass to see what the future of this silverware would have in store at my humble abode.  I couldn’t quite picture them at home with the rest of my world and so with a tinge of hesitation I walked away from the gleaming gold numbers.

However as all things in life that grab a hold of me, even for just a second, the gold has come creeping into my thoughts.  Flashes of brazen, brash light come to my mind and begin to twirl away into thoughts of a well-groomed table.  Delight!  So do I do it and let my whimsical side take flight?  Or do I stay steadfast loyal to my practical side that remains hasty about the gaudiness of the look?

Image via Lonny – Eddie Ross tablescape

Via Eddie Ross

Eddie Ross

Martha Stewart Weddings

Via CocoKelly

I have a feeling I’ll be bold and go gold.  What is life for, if not to live it up?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Birthday, Graham! New York Times & Sunshine Dreams

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brenda Reiter  |  February 24, 2011 at 9:08 AM

    i am redoing my bedroom in taupe colors. We currently have bedside tables that were your grandparents. I am looking for new ones that are longer, almost like a writing table about four feet, with a drawer., not too deep as you need to be able to get in and out of bed Ideas? our house as you may recall is traditional. I don’t like things ornate. thanks Aunt Brenda

    Reply
  • 2. Don  |  February 24, 2011 at 9:25 AM

    Didn’t you have a gold toilet a while ago?

    Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  February 24, 2011 at 10:20 AM

    I LOVE IT. What fun! I hope you get the set! If not for you guys, then my birthday is around the corner.

    Reply
  • 4. consciouscloset  |  February 24, 2011 at 10:55 AM

    I say go for it, Kate! It seems timeless and classy and I can totally picture them in your apartment.

    Reply
  • 5. Alice  |  February 24, 2011 at 12:04 PM

    GO FOR IT! I absolutely love all the tables you posted. So fun and colorful!

    Reply
  • 6. Allison Reiter  |  February 24, 2011 at 12:56 PM

    ” I love GOLD” (Gold Member voice from Austin Powers)

    Reply
  • 7. katecollinsinteriors  |  February 24, 2011 at 1:42 PM

    With the resounding cheers from the crowd, I’m convinced. When I get a second, I’m racing to the store to see if the treasures still sit patiently waiting. Thank you for the comments!

    Reply
  • 8. Alexis  |  February 24, 2011 at 2:49 PM

    As a lover of ALL things shiny, I agree, you should have them.

    Go gold or go home… go gold and go home…? 😉

    Reply
  • 9. apep11  |  February 24, 2011 at 3:58 PM

    I love gold earrings, why not gold silverware!

    Reply
  • 10. Mandi Smith T  |  February 24, 2011 at 8:50 PM

    Brass is sooo back (i just posted about it), so I say if the price it right, go for it! Such a fun way to have the look. M.

    Reply
  • 11. bridget  |  February 25, 2011 at 3:37 PM

    my parents had a set of goldware (gold silverware?)/gold flatware that we always used at christmas. it is a fun way to be festive and when i was a little girl i always felt like a princess when we got to use it. even though it was something my mother picked up at a rummage sale.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


