Craigslist Find

February 10, 2011 at 5:30 AM 11 comments

We’ve got a little bit of a storage situation going on in our bedroom.  Actually, little situation is an understatement.  We really have zero, zilch, zada room for clothes and yet we seem to have copious amounts of clothing.  They just keep coming and coming.  Every time I clean out my closet, more clothes miraculously appear that need to be stored away.  I know what all you brainiacs are thinking, stop shopping.  But I don’t know that I can commit to that solution.  What I can commit to is another dresser.

So, yesterday I purchased two matching campaign dressers for $80.  Actually one is a dresser and the other is a secretary.  I’m going to put them on either side of our bed.  Matching campaign dressers sounds so luxurious but check out what I actually bought…

Hideous, leaves a gross taste in your mouth, BAD yellow dresser and secretary.  Of course, I was way too impatient to take a decent before picture, but you get the idea.  I went immediately to work on the dresser today (a small miracle that I actually tackled this project in one day) and now, you can see what I was envisioning…

Not bad for $40.  I may paint out the hardware in gold, but that’s a bit ambitious for my track record.  I also like the patina that the hardware has at the moment.

Campaign dressers have been having their heyday in decor and I guess I just added one more to the blogosphere.  While I try my hardest to stay away from trends, sometimes a girl just can’t resist.  Plus, these babies fit the budget. Let’s take a look at what others have done with campaign furniture –

Via Little Green Notebook

Jenny of Little Green Notebook also scored some campaign action and painted hers white.

Via Lonny Mag

Love this green campaign dresser featured in Lonny Mag.

This color has me seriously consider repainting

Love these in black – home to Jamie of ISuwannee .

I almost went with navy blue (I realize this isn’t navy, but it’s close); I ultimately decided white because I really want the dressers to blend into the cream wall as we will have way too much furniture in our bedroom.  Clothes you will soon have a home!  What do you think of campaign furniture?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Jewelry In Time for Valentine’s Day Happy Friday

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. julie  |  February 10, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    Lucky you! I kept searching around on Craigslist for one but they don’t seem to be anywhere local. And eBay – the prices are marked way up.

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  February 10, 2011 at 10:48 AM

      I was really lucky on this. The seller didn’t know it was a campaign dresser so I was lucky to click on the item. Good luck finding one!

      Reply
  • 3. Ann Williams  |  February 10, 2011 at 10:15 AM

    Great find! Impressed with the paint job and love the look.

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  February 10, 2011 at 10:49 AM

      Thanks so much! I am pleased with finding them. Can’t wait to get them in my place.

      Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  February 10, 2011 at 11:28 AM

    Fabulous find! I am loving these pieces. And I like your paint color choice. The white looks great with the hardware. Well done!

    Reply
  • 6. Will  |  February 10, 2011 at 11:30 AM

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today – lovely to find you! And, yes, isn’t Ferm Living just lovely!

    P.S. Great job with these pieces!

    Reply
  • 7. bridget  |  February 10, 2011 at 12:43 PM

    i also think the hardware looks good as is. amazing what a coat of paint will do!

    Reply
  • 8. Jessie  |  February 10, 2011 at 2:45 PM

    You are so lucky to find one…even if it is yellow. Craiglist + a little paint is all you need.

    Reply
  • 9. Kim  |  February 10, 2011 at 8:06 PM

    Ugh! Why am I the ONLY one who has not found one of these! Not that I’m jealous…. Great find – and I am jealous 😦

    Reply
  • 10. noelle  |  February 14, 2011 at 11:13 AM

    i am dying over these. have been oogling campaign dressers for years. my mother owns 2 and almost put them out on the curb a few months back, but i talked her into storing them for me! (unfortunately, sister overheard and wants one of them too!) they look gorgeous.

    Reply
  • 11. Elizabeth Goodwin  |  February 16, 2011 at 8:26 PM

    love all the images and the style of the nightstands, dressers…what a find!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


