The Making of a Bedroom

January 25, 2011 at 9:39 AM 8 comments

Yesterday, I gave you an overall look at the bedroom I just finished working on:


Today, I thought I’d give you a play by play of how I went from this..

To this…

My client told me that she was inspired by her many travels so I had her share with me pictures and objects that inspired her.  The two places she loves to travel to the most are Africa and Mexico.  Here are two photos I was shown for inspiration…

Masai girls she met while on safari.

Yarn at a marketplace in Mexico.

She has a very adventurous spirit and a love for color and yet much of her home is neutral in color.  She felt that since this room is off of a laundry room she could take a chance and go bold in color.  That’s where she called in my help.

While inspiration was pulled from abroad, the color palate was chosen from her home.  There was an old chandelier sitting in her garage that she loved but didn’t know what to do with.  I agreed it was beautiful and so up went the light fixture and a color palate began – navy and white…

The green on the walls was inspired by her kitchen cabinets – the kitchen is a close distance to the guest room and so I suggested tying the rooms together through the color green.  We picked a brighter color green in the bedroom though, in compliance with her desire to go bold.  The kitchen inspiration…

The orange was a lovely, vibrant color that stood out to me in both travel photos that she gave to me.  And with that a palate was created and it was time to shop.

Some of the shopping was actually completed around the house, like white wooden giraffes, she brought home on a recent trip from South Africa –

And this painting was hanging in the hallway of her home but I asked if we could move it to the bedroom because the colors are spot on…

The Camaroon headdress above the headboard is from South Africa.  I bought one when I was there, so I brought mine down for a test drive.  My client fell in love with it so off to e-bay we went to get her one of her very own.

Now, to bring in some Mexico influences.  Every picture she sent my way of her vacations there were so colorful.  One way we brought in the influence of Mexico was by choosing a bold fabric for a slipper chair that was in her garage, waiting for a makeover…

The green and white stripe was not going to go and so we were daring and chose an orangey red subrella fabric with navy and white hounds tooth for the welt.

The other item that had the feel of Mexico was this duvet cover from Serena and Lily

And the fish pillow from Thomas Paul brought back the memories of beautiful Mexico beaches.

Lastly, one of my favorite changes was creating a seating area at both windows.  She had amazing window seats that were just waiting to be utilized.  As seen in this before shot…

We chose a classic navy sunbrella fabric for the seat cushions and a pretty white with navy border for the custom romans.

There you have it – how a room was born.  I hope you like it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bedroom Makeover: Before and After Vintage Settee: Before and After

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. consciouscloset  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:49 AM

    Fabulous job, Kate! I particularly love the chair – gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 2. Carly Carroll  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:55 AM

    Kate, I loved this post! The inside look into how you transferred this bedroom is inspirational and very creative. You break down the steps in a way that makes this seem like an attainable goal… even for someone like me who considers a room “decorated” when all the cardboard boxes are gone (or at least out of site!).

    Reply
  • 3. Allison Reiter  |  January 25, 2011 at 1:29 PM

    I cant put my finger on it…but that room looks so very familiar? Beautiful job Kate! Can’t wait to see the real thing!

    Reply
  • 4. Katy  |  January 25, 2011 at 1:34 PM

    Thank you for the step by step! Helps to see how so many ideas can come together and look cohesive and beautiful. I also love knowing you guys revamped and old chair, it’s awesome!

    Reply
  • 5. Glynnis  |  January 25, 2011 at 10:52 PM

    I love it and think you’ve achieved exactly what your client wanted!

    Reply
  • 7. Karrie Kaneda  |  May 17, 2011 at 10:36 AM

    What a fresh transformation! Beautiful room!

    Reply
  • 8. Sandra  |  October 13, 2011 at 8:39 AM

    What a beautiful transformation. I love, love, love and want, want, want a juju hat!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 358 other followers


