Rain, Sprain and Pain

January 4, 2011 at 5:36 AM 8 comments

No Pain No Gain – right? I’m the exact opposite of athletic so I never really had to deal with the whole No Pain No Gain theory. But I’ve always believed in working hard. This past weekend, I had a wee fall in heels which resulted in a sprained ankle. You know that whole not athlectic thing? Yeah – I’m talking extremely uncoordinated; it doesn’t take much for me to fall.

Sunday was the Alameda Flea Market and I was determined to go for a client. It was raining out and I was on crutches but I refused to let that stop me. My husband felt so sorry for me that he decided to come along and help me out. Thank goodness he did! I couldn’t have done it alone.

Luckily, after hoofing it across the parking lot, they had wheel chairs to give to customers in distress. The greeters offered me a wheel chair and I said, “no”, thinking I could handle everything. After about five minutes, we returned for the wheelchair. Crutches are not as fun as they look.

The vendors must have felt sorry for me because one person gave me a blanket and the other a slice of pizza. I was treated like royalty while my husband did all the work. I would point to things and he would have to go in, ask for pricing and hold the items up to take pictures to e-mail to my client.

Thank you, Graham! Nice work!! Aren’t I the luckiest girl?

We walked away with some wonderful finds for my client and I’m eager for install day. Here’s a glimpse at some of the various items being sold at Alameda this past Sunday…

Luckily, the rain stopped just as we arrived and it didn’t resume raining until after we left. It was a very successful trip and a lot of fun; plus, the wheelchair made it very easy to carry everything.

P.S. My ankle is doing much better. It’s amazing how much faster it heels when you actually give it a rest. I still have a funky limp but I’m getting there.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

To Continue On… Jersey Ice Cream Co.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  January 4, 2011 at 9:09 AM

    Glad that the ankle is healing; just steer clear of those high heels for a month or two. Was that a pizza paddle Graham was holding up?

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  January 4, 2011 at 10:38 AM

      I know – high heels are my enemy! Graham is holding up an antique pizza paddle -very cool!

      Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  January 4, 2011 at 10:23 AM

    That wee fall sure did you in! I think you might want to get a wheelchair every week, looks so easy to carry stuff! Glad you’re feeling better and that Graham was such a good sport!

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  January 4, 2011 at 10:39 AM

      That wheelchair was so great! Next time I go back to Alameda, I’m going to have to have a “sprained ankle” 😉

      Reply
  • 5. Graham  |  January 4, 2011 at 11:02 AM

    Kate’s become quite the negotiator. Not only does she get me out in the rain to a flea market but I had to push her around. Who knew it would be such a fun day?

    Reply
  • 6. Erin  |  January 4, 2011 at 2:29 PM

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the horseshoe coat rack and vintage signs!!! Looks like you even picked up a sign! Hope the ankle is feeling better…I hurt mine too on Sat. morning but it’s a much more embarassing story than high heels. Happy New Year Kate!

    Reply
  • 7. karin  |  January 21, 2011 at 12:50 AM

    good day – i was referred to your blog by Reichel at Copycat chic and live local in San Jose. I was wondering if you can share more info on the alameda flea mkt – ihen it is, etc…it looks 10x better than the deanza flea mkt with some fab finds (what did you do with those letters?) and can you share the other stores you are hunting at for good bargins (like your chairs) seems i can’t find the items in SJ! thanks for the tips!

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  January 26, 2011 at 10:45 AM

      Hi there – the alamed flea mkt is the best flea market in the bay area! It is always on the first Sunday of every month so that is easy to remember. I also really like to use Craigslist and I recommend typing what you are looking for into the search criteria, be specific and check daily. My chairs came from Craiglist. I hope that helps!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


