Something is missing…

December 21, 2010 at 8:36 AM 6 comments

Here is my living room in its current state – see if you can tell what’s missing…

Here’s a big hint…

It’s a sofa!  You see, we thought we could tough it out with a 51 inch settee and just deal for the year or so we live in this apartment.  But it’s rough without a sofa, almost like camping without a sleeping pad, it’s fine for a little while but after a short time, you really start missing comfort.  Movie watching is only so much fun from a chair.  And when Graham got the flu, he wanted to watch TV in comfort; we only have a TV in the living room so I went out and bought him a blow up mattress, which worked until it started deflating.  Really folks, we’ve been roughing it.

I have been on the hunt for a sofa that is stylish but has a low enough back that it’ll fit up our stairwell.  And after CRAZY amount of deliberation, I took the leap…I bought a Jonathan Adler sofa!!!   The Templeton Apartment sofa…

The Templeton Apartment sofa in ice blue.  The colorway shown below –

The sofa is leap worthy and I’m so glad I took the plunge and handed over my AmEx.  Of course, I didn’t pay retail because it seems to be something I don’t like to do anymore.  I guess all the thrift store shopping has rubbed off on me.  It was a sample floor model and going for 60% off.  Yippee!!

Once this beauty is up in our apartment – fingers crossed all of my measuring was accurate.  I get to do some furniture rearranging.  Then I’ll pick the final fabric for the room – the seat cushions for my faux bamboo chairs (against closet doors in living room photo).  Can’t wait to show you new pics!

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Window Shades Finished From Sofa to Settee Back to Sofa

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katy  |  December 21, 2010 at 10:31 AM

    Couch is life altering! So happy you took the plunge; I can’t wait to be supine in it sipping coconut water mimosas with you guys!

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  December 21, 2010 at 10:33 AM

    Yes! We got it just in time for the New Year’s day hangover gathering. Wouldn’t be the same without a couch!!

    Reply
  • 3. Alice  |  December 21, 2010 at 12:21 PM

    I love the couch, color, and the discount! Your living room looks amazing!

    Reply
  • 5. Beatrice  |  December 21, 2010 at 1:56 PM

    Great shopping Kate. The room really was missing a sofa and the settee looks so nice in the dining room anyway. You were very clever to get such an awesome sofa at a good price and I like the fabric.
    The pillows should be something really strong—maybe Santa could find them!

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  December 21, 2010 at 2:13 PM

      Thank you!! It was missing a sofa. It’s funny that you mention Santa because when I showed the picture of the settee in the dining room, you mentioned Santa bringing a sofa for the living room. That’s whas the inertia I needed to go forward with what I’d been wanting to do. Santa brought the sofa early, so maybe he can bring the pillows on the 25. One can hope! I agree with strong colors! Good thinking!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


