Dining Room Roman Shade DIY

December 9, 2010 at 5:45 AM 8 comments

As I mentioned last week, I gave Jenny’s tutorial on making mini blinds into Roman shade’s a little spin. And I have to say I am loving this DIY. So it takes time and some patience but it really takes zero skill and that’s something that I’m all about. When it comes to me, starting a project is all hunky dory but actually finishing a project, well that’s amazing.

I’ll give you a walk through my latest transformation.

Dining room windows before the project:

Icky poo rental mini blinds. Yuck.

Windows after one window is done:

Aaah, my eyes can rest…on one corner of the room.

Two windows done:

Loving the two windows, hating the middle eye sore. But now I’ve run out of fabric…again…math is not my strong suit. Back to the fabric store – ugh…will I really finish the project?!

YES!! Total time – two days. About 6 hours total, including two trips to the fabric store. I used black linen for the shades and at $7 a yard, I was able to make my roman shades for a total of $56. Not bad, my friends, not bad.

ļ»æ

I have grand plans to add on a gray ribbon to the shades and to paint the white brackets black. Plus, I’ve got pillow choices for our settee. What do you think of the three choices above? I’m 99% sure I’ll go with the black lombar that matches the shades; the shades won’t usually be down so far but I wanted to show them off for this post. šŸ™‚ And the settee actually sits in the living room but I have my eyes set on a sofa to replace it – stay tuned to see if I get it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Thriftstore Purchases Imwalle Christmas

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  December 9, 2010 at 7:26 AM

    I am impressed. Those shades look very professional. Down the road the gray ribbon would really look awesome. The settee looks so perfect in that spot and I vote for the dog pillow. Maybe Santa Claus will bring a living room sofa.

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  December 9, 2010 at 9:29 AM

      Thank you, thank you, thank you!! Such a compliment to say they look professional. I do hope to get the gray ribbon on, it would really tie in with the gray console table I also have in the room. I WISH santa would bring me the sofa – perhaps I need to blog to Santa. šŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 3. jaclyn  |  December 9, 2010 at 9:11 AM

    For a second I thought that was a real pup on the couch!

    Reply
  • 5. Glynnis  |  December 9, 2010 at 12:34 PM

    they look stunning.

    Reply
  • 7. Katy  |  December 9, 2010 at 4:52 PM

    I thought the dog was real too, scared me! I can’t believe what an improvement getting rid of the awful blinds makes! I’m hiring you to do our apartment, seriously. Emailing you now.

    Reply
  • 8. Lauren Grote  |  December 9, 2010 at 8:49 PM

    ditto on the dog being real! i love the doggie pillow. the room looks great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


