Coffee Filters, Paper Lantern and Patience

October 19, 2010 at 7:16 AM 10 comments

Coffee filters, paper lantern and patiences…that’s all it takes….well, that and a whole lotta glue – to make this:



This beautiful chandelier was made by Nichole of Parlour Home Blog; she is a creative genius.  I’m feeling it peeps.  It is beautiful!!  Plus, this is one of those things that you could do in front of TV and watch endless marathons of your favorite show.  Her light took over 12,000 coffee filters!

Here is a photo with her DIY instructions

“I thought a picture was worth a thousand words.  I’m not much for crumpling, just close placement.”  I know Nichole used a glue gun.  I think it’s pretty self explanatory and I’m thinking it may be just what my living room or bedroom is asking for.  I think I’ll go smaller on the size though.  If mine doesn’t take a crazy amount of time, I might also try spray painting it.  But, I’m afraid the spray paint would crumple the paper.  What do you think?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Guess who wants a dog? Teenage Angst Banished

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nichole @ Parlour  |  October 19, 2010 at 7:55 AM

    awww, thanks so much for the feature post. I have to say, I’m loving your blog/work…thanks for finding me, I’m glad you did! I’ll be poking around your site for a while!

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 19, 2010 at 10:03 PM

      I love your work! Thank you for saying you love mine as well. 🙂 Thanks for taking a look around my site!

      Reply
  • 3. don  |  October 19, 2010 at 10:12 AM

    I think that between the paint and filter, it will be dark. maybe colored tissue paper?

    d

    Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  October 19, 2010 at 11:08 AM

    That looks SO cool. I think you should try it! If you got really little ones (lights), you could try out different techniques. Imagine if you did different color spray paints and made a multi-color ball. That would look cool though I’m not sure where it would be appropriate decor. I could probably help with this project, its simplicity is my pace.

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 19, 2010 at 10:06 PM

      Great idea! That would be cool. We are officially doing this together! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Beatrice  |  October 19, 2010 at 11:15 AM

    Kate,
    i think that the paint will be too heavy for the paper and could ruin your hard work. Try it out first.

    Reply
  • 9. Laura B  |  July 23, 2011 at 11:02 PM

    Just wanted to suggest that you try a diluted paint to dye the filters. You can look up coffee filter flowers which is where I first saw the technique. You just need the time to let the filters dry.

    Reply
  • 10. Angela  |  September 14, 2011 at 6:07 PM

    I am doing a filter lantern for my daughters playroom and I used food coloring and water for one of my dyes, and purple rit dye for the other one. The rit works great! I am going to be gluing the filters on tonight, I folded all the filters like a half circle, so I could then stack a few and fold into a quarter again to dip in the dye. I found it to be faster that way, then once they were dipped I could unfold them on my rag towel and place them out for drying. Its taken me a few days to do them because I just air dried them, and because it is to be a surprise so they have to be hidden! Because of the way I folded them and held them while dipping the centers are still white. They were pretty wet but I wiped them gently on the side of the dipping bowl and they were just fine to lay out. I plan to get a higher watt light because the purple i used is pretty dark, I just used a large popcorn bowl and the entire packet of rit. The food coloring with water was a very light dye though, so that may be a better option. I have also seen them where people have used tea to dye them and they are really pretty! Very excited to see how this will turn out!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


