Guess who wants a dog?

October 18, 2010 at 5:30 AM 13 comments

Graham and I do!  We have really wanted a dog for a little over a year now. We can’t have one in this apartment, nor could we in our last. So we’ve decided to do what any good therapist would tell us not to do and fill this void with material possessions…


Ummmmm….you think I’ve gone a little dog crazy?! And the one thing I still regret not buying at the Alameda Flea market was a large white porcelein dog….really?!

x.jpg

I honestly think about it every single day. Have I turned into the old lady and her cats? More like the young-ish lady and her needlepoint/ceramic/painted dogs. These items are actually spread around our apartment but I tell you I can’t get enough of it. I’m in love with our canine friends!!

Perhaps I should cover our new chair cushions:

With this fabric

To Best Friends Collection

Joking. I promise not to go crazy with dogs. Do you have a particular animal that pops up in your decor or a real animal or both?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Friday Coffee Filters, Paper Lantern and Patience

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. debby manning  |  October 18, 2010 at 6:42 AM

    kate, your instincts are spot on; the taupey brown dog fabric would look most lovely on your new chair cushions. . . we, too are dog lovers; one black lab named Topper who passed on to dog heaven just 2 months ago and then a rescue dog (from south central in l.a.) heinz 57 variety named buddy who will live to be 400! do you know the book, Dog Heaven by Cynthia Rylant?? I read to all my Kindergarten classes (and my own girls) for 27 years; the illustrations are magical and the sentiments, well, see for yourself. promise me you’ll find your next home/apt/dwelling based on the fact that they WILL welcome canines.
    cheers, debby manning

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 18, 2010 at 7:29 AM

    Thank you! Oh – I love you dogs names. I’m sorry to hear about Topper. I haven’t heard of the book but I love Cynthia Rylant and so I’ll have to check it out. We will be on the hunt for a canine friendly apartment.

    Reply
  • 3. bridget  |  October 18, 2010 at 10:08 AM

    i love the dog painting! it kind of looks like a whippet! and do i even need to answer your question? in addition to our 3 living cats and 1 dog, EVERY room in our house has at least 5 items with an animal motif. from owls to dogs to deer to rabbits… i am obsessed. the problem also extends to my wardrobe. as a girl i collected china dogs so somewhere in los altos are about 60 antique ceramic dogs!!

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 18, 2010 at 7:05 PM

      Thank you! The dog painting is from Anthropologie a couple of years ago. It was in a back corner on sale – they had used it for a display. I love your house and I love all the animals in it!! In fact, I miss you house and I must come visit it! 60 antique ceramic dogs?! I know where your dad lives – I’m not afraid to go take them! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  October 18, 2010 at 10:18 AM

    Considering our place has no real decor and all I can do is dream, but I do love me some old western motif’s with horses and leather, etc. if you don’t know about it already, the blog “the pioneer woman” has a home and garden section and she re did her “guest lodge” and that is how I dream a home should look…ahh the horse lover in me!

    Reply
    • 6. Jaclyn  |  October 18, 2010 at 10:24 AM

      Wow.. I can’t believe how stylish your place looks (well, I can.. I know you are fancy!) I’m hoping to get a real dog soon but I never thought about decorating with dog designs in the meantime. I would probably make me even more impatient! The place is looking great and hopefully a trip will be planned soon!

      Reply
      • 7. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 20, 2010 at 7:02 AM

        Thanks, Jaclyn!! You are the best! I hope you get your dog soon! I’ve been thinking about you all the time and will be calling you!

    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 18, 2010 at 7:09 PM

      Hey Erin, I checked out “the pioneer woman” – her guest lodge is beautiful!! I can see why that is your dream home. I love all of the wood and the rustic yet polished feel to it. What a home to aspire to!

      Reply
  • 9. Ann Simonson  |  October 18, 2010 at 11:15 AM

    Looks great! I love love love elephants but I am forbidden from decorating with them because my fiance is die hard Auburn fan and Alabama’s mascot is the elephant. So sad!

    Reply
    • 10. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 18, 2010 at 7:10 PM

      Thank you! I love elephants as well! And, as far as I’ve seen, they are all the rage in decor. Damn Alabama! Maybe you could get a stuffed elephant that your fiancee could beat up. 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Beatrice  |  October 19, 2010 at 6:19 PM

    So finally I think that I have gotten to see the green settee and I LOVE IT. Great decision on your part and my gosh that apartment of yours looks mighty fine.
    The dog stuff is very cool as well. I have been longing for a dog of my own as well but seem to be forbidden by the loving spouse. Fortunately, our perfect children and their spouses keep producing these perfect grandchildren which are really much better than a puppy; so I am content for now, mostly because we have a new wee one due to arrive in May—puppy put off once again!!!!

    Reply
    • 12. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 19, 2010 at 10:14 PM

      Yes, that is the green settee! I’m SO HAPPY you love it! Thank you for liking my apartment – it means the world to me!

      A new wee one – yippeee!!! That news made my day!!

      Reply
  • 13. Kelly @ JAX does design  |  October 20, 2010 at 10:15 PM

    My dogs shed their fur all over the house — does that count as popping up in our decor? 😉

    I really like animal prints and we have some zebra in the living room and dining room.

    Love that dog fabric 🙂 And the white porcelain dog is great. Wish I’d bough a similar piece a couple of years ago at HomeSense….

    Kelly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


